Getting Spooked In The Crypt Of The Basilica and Convent Of Santo Domingo In Lima, Peru.

in #travelfeed6 years ago

On my last trip to the Peruvian capital, Lima, I paid a visit to the Basílica y Convento de Santo Domingo and the attached museum. After a short guided tour of the bell tower and a steep climb to get a view of the skyline, I began exploring the museum by myself.

While wandering around the interesting artefacts, I came across a small doorway and set of stairs descending into darkness. I glanced up at the surrounding walls but saw no signs indicating what might be down there. But also no signs saying, ‘Do Not Enter,’ although I suppose they’d say, ‘Sin Entrada,’ or something along those lines. I looked around but couldn’t see anybody else, I seemed to be alone. Not surprising as it was late and the museum closed soon. I decided to go down and take a quick peek.

Looking Down The Bell Tower.

The entrance was low and narrow, and the passageway behind it was the same. So small I only just fitted, crouching as I awkwardly climbed down the stairs with both shoulders rubbing against either wall. A reminder that people were much smaller in the past, or perhaps that I needed to go on a diet. The staircase only descended ten or fifteen feet before opening out to a small underground chamber. It was a dimly lit rectangular room, but apparently part of the museum, which was a bit of a relief. At least I hadn’t just climbed into a storage cupboard.

I walked towards the opposite end of the dark room, but there wasn’t much to see, the room was empty, so I turned to go back the way I’d come. As I did, I saw what I thought was a brightly lit round window high on the back wall. It was a confusing sight and something of an optical illusion, my brain couldn’t quite make sense of it. How could there be a window there? And what was on the other side? My eyes had adjusted to the dark, but the window was so bright I couldn’t make out what was behind it. Walking closer and squinting, my eyes adjusted to the light and shapes began to emerge. It was, bones! Human bones and skulls all piled up. I was taken aback. The scene didn’t make sense.

View Of Lima From The Bell Tower.

Eventually, my brain deciphered what it was seeing. Not a window, but a mirror. A mirror angled at ninety degrees to show a hole in the top of the raised platform in front of me. Down this hole were human skeletons all mixed together. Perhaps this was the crypt. A shudder ran up my spine. I wondered how many bodies were down there? I knew the nearby Monastery of San Francisco was famous for its catacombs containing thousands of human remains. I’m not a superstitious person, but I have to admit an eerie feeling came over me. I was suddenly acutely aware I was alone in the crypt of a museum about to close for the day. Let's not use the word 'panick,' but just say after taking one quick photo, I did make my way rather briskly to the exit.

_DSF3609-Edit.jpg

Location.The Basilica and Convent Of Santo Domingo, Lima, Peru.
Camera.Fujifilm X100S.
Lens.23mm f/2.0 With WCL-X100 (Wideangle Conversion Lens).
Settings.19mm | ISO800 | 1/10 sec | f/2
Post Processing.Adobe Lightroom And Photoshop. | Nik Collection.

Follow Me On Steemit @snaptravel Also Find Me At
SnapTravel | Instagram | iStock | Getty Images | YouTube

Recent Posts You May Also Like.


All content is my own original work. ©snaptravel - tbradford

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=snaptravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=getting-spooked-in-the-crypt-of-the-basilica-and-convent-of-santo-domingo-in-lima-peru


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello @snaptravel, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31