Mogollon Rim

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

This weekend I took a trip to Northern Arizona. I went for a woman's retreat at a cabin in Forest Lakes. I will post about Forest Lakes soon, it is also gorgeous.

Before going to the retreat I stopped to get sunrise pictures at Mogollon Rim.

While living in Arizona I have had heard people talking about "The Rim" and thought they were talking about the rim of the Grand Canyon. It turns out it is Mogollon Rim.

In case you are wondering how to pronounce it Mogollon is pronounced "Muggy-on"

It is a 200 mile long geological feature that cuts across the northern part of Arizona and into New Mexico. "The Rim" cuts through three national forests. The pictures I got from are looking out onto the Tonto National Forest.

In the picture below you can see some of the limestone or sandstone cliffs that make up "The Rim".


Here are a couple of maps for to help you see where it is in comparison to Phoenix. Most of the people in Arizona live in Phoenix or its surrounding cities which are called "The Valley" The pictures are a map of 43.2 miles of the rim from Trek Now which shows paved back roads.


I stopped first to see the view from the visitors center which, is run by the forest service.


Gorgeous view of the Ponderosa pines from the observation deck.


I was fascinated with the pine needles against the blue sky.


The morning light was so gorgeous.

My friend texted to see where I was and if I was ok. I was great! I told her I was still taking pictures. So many beautiful scences to capture.

More views from another lookout along The Rim Road. There are many pullout spots with great views down unto the plateau.

After 11 years of living in Arizona I got to experience a completely new place.
It goes to show that there is often much to see and explore right where we are living.

Sort:  

Dear @sjarvie5,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thanks for the information about #archisteem. I would be happy to be featured.

When I was looking at how to post with it in the future I noticed the rule "Use one or not more than 3 images to write a story." Three pictures seems a very little amount to convey the sense of a place. Can you help me understand that rule better.

Hey @sjarvie5, thanks for the support :) Looking forward to reading more of your stories!

Yes, about that we had changed the rule for some time where images are not limited but must have at least 50% or more original photos. You can read it up here.

This is great, thanks!

Great post with excellent information! Definitely somewhere I would like to find my way to some day. :) Thank you.

Thanks so much. From your pictures it looks like you are in Oregon. I have family there and love visiting them!

Yep. Been here about 1.5 years. Spent most of my time in SW Washington state. Been exploring both states for quite a while, plus any other state I can get to. :)

Wow that's a beautiful report.. I loved every single picture of it! Thank you for sharing!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thanks so much!

Such a detailed post . Love the ridge there ; one day I might check it out if I am ever passing through.

Yes, and let me know when you are Arizona it would be fun to shoot together.

For sure . I have never been to Arizona before. One day!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-24T12:29:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 288.15/200.00
Total Photos: 46
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi @sjarvie5 @gillianpearce had mentioned you in another post and thought I'd stop by. This picture really grabbed my eye when I was scrolling down.

Wow... what an incredible place. We are so lucky to be here on this Planet.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48