You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Village Pottery Store......from a By-Gone Era.

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Looks like the kind of place I would love to visit! There is a "pioneer village" around here somewhere that I should probably go see though I'm a bit discouraged at a lot of feedback that apparently it's "not what it once was".

My mum used to have some macrame hangers but not sure if she still does, I remember them clearly from my childhood but not from the more recent visits, I don't think they survived the climate XD

Sort:  

Hi @ryivhnn Many thanks for your welcome visit and comments. I'm glad I didn't have to rush my visit to this museum and I thoroughly recommend you take the time to check out the pioneer village near you as it will be well worth it, even though it may be a little 'run down,' It gives us a fresh appreciation for our modern day conveniences which we are often inclined to take for granted.

The last time we did that was at a local museum. We did a homeschool excursion there and they dressed up in period costume and the kids got to do normal everyday activities (schoolroom which included showing how some kids missed school because they had to stay home to help with chores, fruit sorting, and lemonade making, we were supposed to do oldschool washing with an old "washing machine" as well but the weather decided otherwise).

Might be due another visit at some stage, though its opening hours have been drastically reducing I guess because of low numbers of visitors, but that's also making it harder to visit, I guess economy is affecting them :<

That certainly does sound like a fun homeschool excursion. Kids learned to do chores at a very early age a few decades ago, which I believe prepared them well for their working future. However, I do feel sorry for kids who missed out on a carefree childhood. A good balance is ideal in my opinion.

I remember watching a lady do her washing with a wash board when I was a young girl and was mesmerized and horrified at the same time. I never took our modern washing machines for granted ever again.......😀 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47