You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: R2R Travelogue 12: Redwood Forests of Northern California

in #travelfeed5 years ago

According to one of the bits of info I read somewhere during this visit @janton ...

"Is this the only place in the world that has these trees?"

... they are only still found in this part of northern California and a few in southern Oregon. The claim was over 95% of them have been cut down, due to the market for their prized wood and its qualities.

I built a solid redwood picnic table for my family in the 1980s and the wood was the most expensive I have ever purchased. If memory serves, I spent over $200 for the needed lumber. During this trip through northern California, I still saw a number of trucks go by loaded with what appeared to be redwood, so presumably it is now better managed ...

Also of interest (again read somewhere during this visit) is that the giant Sequoias of southern California, which are the largest trees in the world, are also a sort of "cousin" to these redwood trees.

Sort:  

howdy sir roleerob! Wow, that's amazing that anyone is selling the wood anymore but I'm sure that tree limbs and trees that fall down and so forth are used. Is the wood red? I don't even remember hearing about the Sequoia trees, I thought the redwoods were the biggest trees. The only Sequoia I know are the cactus. Very interesting! Thank you.

Yes @janton the wood has a definite reddish tint and is very resistant to rot. Excellent for decks and outside projects. Like picnic tables, lawn furniture ...

They are the tallest trees. The Sequoias are the largest - in circumference. The tallest cactus, down in Arizona, are the saguaros ...

Posted using Partiko Android

oh that's right, thank you sir roleerob! lol..the only other Sequoias I know about are the big SUV by Toyota or someone. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70