Costa Rica - Day 7 - Meet the Dogs of Santa Elena, Monteverde

in #travelfeed4 years ago (edited)

Costa Rica - Day 7 - Meet the Dogs of Santa Elena, Monteverde

Read "Costa Rica - Day 7 - Meet the Dogs of Santa Elena, Monteverde" on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


This post is going to be a bit different. I didn't do much today. I hiked a lot yesterday and the altitude may be getting to me. I was tired and just waiting another day to move on to my next destination tomorrow morning.

Too often we don't take the time to meet the locals. This is a tourist town and there are local beggars. No, I don't mean people. I'm talking about the dogs. They roam free through the town. I don't think they are actually strays. One even had a name tag.

This is Rocky. He was sitting outside the door of a local restaurant.

Unlike people, the dogs generally don't impose on you. They just look cute and who can resist? (Well, I did. I didn't have any food anyway and just wanted to say hi.) Look, they're getting plenty of food from tourists. He certainly isn't going hungry.

When I came back I saw him walking with a couple. Maybe I was wrong to assume? I asked the lady if he was hers and she said no. She had pet him and he started following her. I told her his name tag said "Rocky." She called him by name and told him to stay. He seemed disappointed and then crossed the street to sit on the patio of another restaurant. He's smart! He knows the good spots to find tourists with food!

Rocky chilling on the patio waiting for another tourist to give him food.

After a walk up the hill, I returned to town and walked by the restaurant where I had originally found Rocky. To my surprise there was another dog in the same spot! These dogs know the game!

Another perro staking out prime food begging territory

This dog didn't have a name tag. He barely paid attention to me. He must have known I didn't have food. After all, I was only passing by, not even entering the restaurant.

I walked down to the other spot where I last saw Rocky. He was still there but he had moved to a spot under the patio deck to take a nap in the shade.

Rocky getting some rest in the shade.

There were other dogs in town. I saw a big black one walking down the street yesterday. I didn't see him today. After nightfall, the weather started getting colder and rainy. People were not on the street as much. I went to look for more dogs but they were getting harder to find. They know there's no food to beg for when the weather is bad!

I got lucky and saw one trotting by the hostel. He approached me but when he saw I didn't have food he quickly resumed walking to wherever he was headed.

Screw you, I'm going home.

I walked around the block a couple more times but only found one more dog. This one was hanging out at a small gift shop. He had a water bowl so maybe he belonged to the shop owner. Or maybe she is just kind to the local dogs.

This adorable dog is missing his rear left leg.

I wish I had taken more pictures of dogs yesterday. They add a lot to the local culture of the city. Just like every city has it's strange spare changing inhabitants that may not actually be homeless, so do some cities have dogs doing the same thing. They are clever dogs exhibiting the same behavior as people do when there are some better off than others. They thrive on the good will of tourists. They're quite well behaved too, with a freedom working dogs and house pets do not always have.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

As a follow-up, while I was at the hostel I saw the three legged dog run by.
IMG_20200113_224835908.jpg

I followed him. He led me to a pretty cool bar I hadn't been in yet. My two hostel roommates were there. This dog must be thirsty. He knows the right place.

IMG_20200113_235934877.jpg

IMG_20200113_235948377.jpg

this is very beautiful dog, and really your every travel so amazing looking. I enjoyed your post.

Aww, this is a sweet post :) I had the very same experience with doggies in Colombia, especially in the towns of Salento and Guatape. They were just so nice, relaxed and adorable :) One of them just came and put his head (very gently though) on my lap when I was eating in a restaurant :D

Haha, of course it was while you're eating in a restaurant! They are polite at begging at least.

Congratulations @robmolecule! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Feedback

Based on your post, we have the following feedback for you:

  • We recommend you improve the formatting of your post (e.g. subheadings, font size, structure, better photo placements, etc.). You can check out the several formatting options in the TravelFeed.io EasyEditor.
  • You have reached our minimum 250 words requirement but we encourage you to tell us more about your travel experience.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 170 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=robmolecule
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=costa-rica-day-7-meet-the-dogs-of-santa-elena-monteverde


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I really like to read you @robmolecule :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30