A Busy Day in Kedonganan Fish Market, Bali, Indonesia

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Kedonganan fish market is located in the south Bali, very close to the national airport of Denpasar. It is located in the end of a bay called Jimbaran Bay, but the village itself is called Kedonganan.

It was 9 AM when I arrived there. The sun was already very hot. In fact, this time of the year, the temperature in Bali is the hottest because the sun is just right above us.

IMG_2853.jpg

The day in Kedonganan starting to get hot, but it did not seem to affect people there. The market was very busy fo people selling buying stuff. There were many motorcycles and pickup trucks coming and going to the market.

I parked my motor cycle by the beach, near a pavement. From this spot, I could see a numerous fishermen boats parked by the beach. The fishermen usually go to the sea in the evening (maybe for few days) to the sea around Bali, Java or Sulawesi, then arrived in the morning by the beach, The little sellers or whole seller waiting for these boats bay the beach to buy directly from the fishermen.

I walked on the pavement toward where the people sell fishes. They were group of sellers just by the beach, and they shaded themselves and their merchandise with colorful umbrellas.

IMG_2855.jpg

I walked in in the middle of the sellers. This was not the main market. This was just people who independently sell their fish here. The main market was just across the street. Maybe these sellers run out of place in the market, so they could rent any spot in the market, that they sold by the beach.

Anyway, I just walked and saw what they sell. There were some people who came and buy the fish. But I had a feeling that these fish had a lower quality then thous inside the market.

Well, my wife did ask how much fish were cost, but she ended up not buying anything.

This little market by the sea side had quite a few fish sellers displaying theri merchandises on the sand. Some people came to buy from them.

Then we went to the market across the street. As we walked I saw many pick up trucks loading boxes containing fish. Those were probably sent to restaurant and hotels.

IMG_2877.jpg Loading box of fish to the pick up truck to send to restaurants and hotels in Bali.

The market is a bigger building and there was a gate to go in. I walked pass the gate, and boy! I could smell fish.
IMG_2878.jpg

Inside there are more varieties of fish. There were some groups of sellers selling fish like tuna, mackerel, garoupa, or barracuda. There were sellers who have crabs, mussel, prawn and lobsters. I said to myself if the steem price is USD 4, I would treat myself a couple of these lobsters. But since at the moment the steem price is USD 0.14, I just took photos.

I spent some minutes in the market, taking a lot of photos. I took a lot photos because I know lots of my photos would turn bad. And so maybe I could pick few of the best ones, and show them on steem blockchain.

I went out from the market after bought half kilogram of barracuda. It cost me USD 3. Then that's it. We were happy with our purchase.

There were many varieties of fish, clams, mussels, prawns, and lobsters inside.

Out from the market, I walked toward the jetty on the beach. The jetty was a great place for photography. I looked outside to the horizon and thought what bright blue sky, and green sea. It was a perfect day! (Well, it's a bit hot too)

Despite the heat, I walked toward the jetty. My wife found a shady place, and said she wouldn't come, so I went by myself.

IMG_2955.jpgWalking toward the end of jetty, it was bright day.
IMG_2956.jpgBoats were parked around the jetty.

IMG_2958.jpgStrange boat! Why there was only one side has outrigger?

IMG_2961.jpgLooking back from the end of the jetty toward the beach.

fishing.jpg Some people were fishing on the jetty.

IMG_2962.jpgMore boats.

I saw some people sitting by the jetty fishing. And there were also a lot of fisherman boats there parked near the jetty. I took few photos of the beach, the sea and the far horizon. It is so hot but so beautiful a day.

I went back from the jetty toward the beach to the pavement. My wife and I walked to where our motorcycle parked. Just few meters from where were there few little cafes which served sea food. And they also had a grilling service. So, you could go to the market, buy the fish you like, and ask them to grill them for you. It's not a bad idea to enjoy the day having sea food dinner and some cold drinks here!

IMG_2987.jpgThis cafe serves sea food and grill fish for you.
IMG_2989.jpgYup, it's a bit smokey and hot. So, that's a good reason for a glass of cold beer, maybe?

And that concludes my adventure in Kedonganan fish market, Bali. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @mrprofessor and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io? That is not all, we are also giving away a ticket to Steemfest to one lucky TravelFeed user. Make sure to read the announcement and opt in! Also, thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we introduced EasySignUp and EasyLogin, our first step to make TravelFeed ready for mass adoption.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi, @putu300!

You just got a 0.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Great post you made. I will recommend you. Wish you a great day. 👍🏻💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much. Have a great day too you.

Wow, it looks great! I like the use of the six together. The market looks like a very interesting place too.

Thank you. I'll use it more often to my next post.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 217 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 80. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=putu300
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-busy-day-in-kedonganan-fish-market-bali-indonesia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #654.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Amazing post! I want to visit!

I just stopped by because @wakeupkitty featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you @viking-ventures for your visit. Have a great day to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74