Above and below the roofs

When I was younger I used to dislike that our city was decorated with Christmas lights for almost 2 months before Christmas. Christmas feeling was everywhere and everyone talked about it. People were stressed out and running around trying to make sure that they have prepared everything for upcoming holidays.

I thought that it was just a marketing trick to get people to buy more and more and more. I actually still believe that this is true but I'm not tempted to go shopping anymore. My life priorities have changed and I go shopping only when it's really necessary. When you don't feel that pressure to buy things because Christmas is 'behind the corner' you can start enjoying the atmosphere and this is what I do since a few years.

I love walking around in the evening looking at those beautiful Christmas lights and decorations feeling like I was in a fairy tale, stopping at the stands selling various Christmas drinks and drinking a cup of mulled wine, and talking to my friends about their Christmas menus as food became much more important to me than the presents. Give me some home made goodies and you'll make me happy.

Today, I'd like to show some impressions from above and below the roofs in our city. We live in the old town and we have stunning views from our windows. I enjoy looking at those uneven roofs. All houses are attached to each other but they are so different. It's interesting and I can easily spend half an hour sitting in front of the window and doing nothing (no, I don't watch people).

1.jpg

It was a crazy day. The sun was shining and all of the sudden there were dark clouds and lots of rain. Then it was sunny again. All these photos were taken during one day.

2.jpg

The evaporation after the rain makes it look like a different season of the year.

3.jpg

And we had a rainbow too! It was a double rainbow but the second one is not very visible on the photo.

4.jpg

We have seen the city from above the roofs already and now it's time to go below and walk to the city to enjoy the Christmas atmosphere.

5.jpg

Simplicity is the key. Our Christmas trees are not overly decorated and I like the way they are. The main Christmas tree was being built that day and we couldn't wait for it, so I will show it to you next time.

6.jpg

Every year, a wooden restaurant is built for the Christmas period. They serve typical Swiss dishes such as Alpler macaroni, fondue or garlic bread. The restaurant will be there for about two months and then it will be dismantled again.

The symbol of Schaffhausen is the bock and this is why it was placed in front of the restaurant.

7.jpg

And here are some stands with food. There are not that many people yet as Christmas is still a month away but the square will be getting busier each day.

8.jpg

It doesn't look like they were having a lot of fun, does it? But don't worry, the Swiss are very private people and they don't really party in public.

9.jpg

We also had the opportunity to listen to the yodel. I haven't had a chance to experience it before and I must admit that I liked it. They were great!

10.jpg

I liked their traditional costumes as well.

11.jpg

And let's move to another square now. It looks busier here. It's because these stands are at the square with shopping streets.

12.jpg

This is where we got our mulled wine too! We have however brought our own cups to reduce our plastic use.

13.jpg

There was another performance too. I'm not that fond of this one as I don't like the music they are playing but people were dancing, singing and clapping like it was something fantastic. I prefer other fun activities though.

14.jpg

The band was getting ready, so we had to move fast not to hear another performance 😊

15.jpg

And here is our simple decoration. It looks like a sky full of stars in the evening. I might show it to you next time too!

16.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed being part of our local festivities.

Thank you for visiting!

Cheers!

Sort:  

When you don't feel that pressure to buy things because Christmas is 'behind the corner' you can start enjoying the atmosphere and this is what I do since a few years.

That's a brilliant point!

I love love loved the yodellers! OMG they are soooooooooo cute looking, I bet it gave some goosebumps to listen to them, I've got goosebumps just seeing them.

Another thing I appreciated was the rooftops, they are so ancient and unique looking, sigh...such beauty there.

The simple decoration on the Christmas tree was too beautiful as well! Thanks for sharing @delishtreats, I'm in the spirit now after this. Wishing I was there though! HA what fun!!

Hahaha, Lyndsay! You made me check from which account I posted that :D

Those yodellers were really good. They were so synchronized and it sounded great. As usually I forgot to take a video as when I'm enjoying something I don't think about technology at all :D

Yes, Swiss cities are like this. All houses are very old and the roofs are unique. Switzerland was neutral during the wars so it wasn't destroyed that much. Except of our city as it's so close to Germany so it was bombed by 'mistake' and all those houses are new but rebuilt in traditional way.

Have you ever thought about coming to Europe for a few weeks? You would love it!

I'm gonna do some serious travelling once the boys are grown, like, forever travelling is my goal, but who knows, if there are grandbabies, and I've got a lot of animals then I guess I'll settle for a couple weeks :) I apologize for the incorrect tag, effff!! Thought for sure I did PlantfulJourney haha, must have been some good brain fart I had there!! :D :D :D

...sigh, no kidding! What a romantic blog post! ❤

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=plantfuljourney
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=above-and-below-the-roofs


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @plantfuljourney! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77