Best Way To Ship Stuff From The United States To Vietnam (And Thailand)

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

If you’re from the US and you end up living in Asia for a long time, you start to realize that there are some things you’d REALLY like to have are hard to find in Asia.

You’re suddenly all too aware of the fact that maybe you relied a little too heavily on the convenience of things just magically appearing on your doorstep because of Amazon and suddenly you’re just SOL.

I already wrote about how to get stuff from Vietnam to the USA, but what if you need it the other way around? Unfortunately, the advice from my other post doesn't go both ways.

I seriously considered shipping a new phone to Vietnam after the stolen phone incident.

But, since mail is kind of a crapshoot, I didn’t go that route.

I did find out something amazing though, and apparently it’s pretty reliable.

There’s a company called Viet Air Cargo (vietaircargo.com) that will send you packages from the US to Vietnam for very cheap, and they track your package every step of the way.

So if you’re in Vietnam either to live or on a visa run, you can get things directly from Amazon.com for example for REALLY low shipping cost!

Now, keep in mind, the company is based in a town in Cali, so if you’re trying to ship something from your house back home, then you’d have to get it to their office first.

But with Amazon prime, you can just ship the stuff directly to their office in Cali for free and then they’ll ship it for you to any city in Vietnam for only 2.30-2.70 per pound!

5lbs for $13.50 at most.

Literally that’s cheaper than shipping within the US.

I think this is a super awesome strategy to use if you’re going to be in Asia for a LONG time and really just need something that you can’t find here.

I always see people in facebook groups and travel forums asking about shipping, and unfortunately a lot of times, there just aren’t a lot of answers.

Hopefully this is the answer for someone who needs it! I had to spend a lot of time figuring all of this stuff out, so I hope to save several hours of research for someone else!

P.S. Read the comment below by @eoj if you want to know about shipping to Thailand!

Sort:  

Greetings, dear and clever lady Nomadicsoul

Pretty cool your idea of how to travel cheap from the US to Vietnam. Honestly, I think you're the first person I've read to write about this country. The only thing I know about this place is the war that happened between him and us a few decades ago. Also, I know that the Vietnam has beautiful beaches and the cost to spend days there, at least for Brazilians, is super cheap. The problem is the transfer, which involves plane travel and this trip is expensive. If it wasn't, I'd think about staying on one of those beautiful islands with crystal water and an amazing nature.

For now, I have to find cheap ways to travel around here too hehehe.

Thanks for the post. Good night!!!

Step 1: Ship through Amazon to friends in Bangkok
Step 2: Visit friends in Bangkok, pick up package

:)

This comment needs to stay at the top hehe! Amazon is coming to Vietnam soon! Although I'm not sure how many sellers will be on there vs. the ones in the states. Only time will tell! You can shop on lazada and stuff but it's just not the same!

Seriously, we have Amazon access here. If you do ever make it over, let us know if you want to ship things beforehand to our address, then just pick it up!

Also: do you know about thedonkeycart? They'll ship TRADER JOE'S!!!!

Is it thai amazon or amazon in the US ships to Thailand? I bet that makes a difference. You guys are seriously the best!!! I'm an hour ahead of you I think, so I'm going to bed. But I think I need to update this post with this info and give you credit! For now I'll just make it say read the comment by @eoj below!

Trader Joes to Thailand? That just blew my mind.

I've actually never used thedonkeycart personally here, just heard about it. Maybe they ship to Columbia too! :)

I can't stop wishing to see through your brain. I am going to give you some work on discord if you don't mind :)

You are my second google, and if I need some answers with nice humor I rather nomadicsoul it than google it.

Keep being awesome.

You have not bought a phone since you lost it. Long time ago, why not buy a phone in Vietnam instead of shipping from the US, I think the price will be cheaper.

I did buy one actually, but I specifically needed it with the US sim card so I could verify accounts

Well, I understand, it turns out to be so.I also had a hard time verifying my account with my Chinese phone number.

I saw an advertisement, in which, he only travels with a large suitcase. Inside only one visa card. kaka )), you understand the meaning then, I also wish to later travel around without thinking of carrying too many things

OhHh! That is such a good deal! :)

I need this post for every country!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98