You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: R2R Travelogue 8: Hearst Castle in San Simeon, California

in #travelfeed6 years ago

The picture of the mist seems photoshopped and is amazing! Talk about great timing! To consider the vast property is amazing and shows somewhat how the royalty type families lived in the past. While I think they still exist around the world, many forget those here in the United States. As I am preparing for work I appreciate starting the day with this walk on your journey my friend! Enjoy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Glad the timing worked out @newageinv. Great to hear it helped get your day off to a great start!

"The picture of the mist seems photoshopped and is amazing!"

Well, my first problem is there was no way for me to capture the full scope of "Casa Grande" with my trusty little smartphone, so had to take the unusual step of linking to someone else's picture.

As to it being photoshopped? Can't say for certain, but I'd say that is very unlikely. Part of the storytelling was the great pleasure Hearst had up on this hill overlooking his vast estate. And one of the benefits "up there" was being above any fog that might be down on the water.

I myself, in the Pacific Northwest, have experienced more than once what it is like to get above the clouds and fog below to see the glorious sight of the top of Mount Rainier. Hard to put into words. One was driving (a lifetime memory!), the other times were simply lifting off the ground from the Seattle airport off to wherever at that point in time ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44