You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bolgar - the ruined capital of the ancient state Volga Bulgaria (Russia)

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Thanks for telling the story! Sure i would go if I could. Maybe at some point. As Danube Bulgarians we know very little of the Volga state that was. Before migration I know there was a place called Phanagoria near Taman. And our ancestors spread from there, Khan Asparuch leading people to Danube and beypnd into Byzantium territory in 681 AD. Some of his brothers went for Volga.

Sort:  

Thank you for telling us about the historical details! I didn't know that, but I was on Taman where the Phanagoria was! Unfortunately, I did not know that there were also ruins of the settlement...What a pity it was so close to our place of stay. We were just swimming in the sea...I still have pictures of those places...unfortunately without archaeological excavations.

Well I don't know if such ruins remain. They would be about 650 AD and legend has it it was a stone city.

Yes, a little preserved. I looked in the WIKI. But this of course is not built, but just some of the foundations of the buildings...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44