Gazillions of sea shells at the sea shore " Ang Su-so "

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Recently this afternoon I went outside when the sun is perfectly shining. I am so happy because I discovered a new place in Bacolod that amazed me though it is not part of my plan. The said place is located in Barangay Pahanacoy which is 20 minutes away from my residence accessible via motorcycle and jeepney. Then for a change, I challenged myself to do some leg workout and not to spend any single cent all throughout this day.

Walking took me more than an hour before I reached the place while wearing my hat and comfortable clothes to resist the heat. But after seeing these beautiful sceneries all the sacrifices are replaced by mixed of emotions.

bay1.jpg

Actually, I'm not supposed to be at the beach, because this travel plan is to visit the Nun Monastery in Brgy. Pahanocoy. Though I have no idea about this place and out of my curiosity I want to explore it as much as I could. But the sad thing the Monastery is closed during my visit and only available every Sunday from 10 AM till 5 in the afternoon.

bag15.jpg

I am very disappointed when I wasn't able to enter the Monastery after my long walking journey under the heat of the sun. Instead of having that bad feeling I motivate my self to find a way on how to reach the beach area at the back of this Monastery. I walked slowly beside the concrete walls where it seems the grass is flattened. It means there are people passing by on this area. Then after a couple of minutes, this stagnant water with few stepping stones approach me along the way. Honestly, I hesitate to walk on the grass because I am wearing short pants at the same time I have skin allergies.

IMG_20181019_161028.jpg

The blue sky and the tall coconut trees are perfect for taking a selfie photo.

bay2.jpg

I am thankful because during my visit it is low tide or we called it " Hunas" in Hiligaynon. But the challenge here is the muddy part that I need to step on just to take decent shots multiple steps away from the shoreline.

The funny thing is that when I forget that I am wearing a new pair of shoes where all I can do is to ignore it and simply enjoy the rest of the time exploring the shore.

bay4.jpg

The clear water reflects the image of the sky including the sun.

bay5.jpg

The most interesting part about this beach is the gazillions of seashells we called it " Su-so " in our dialect. I was so amazed seeing these massive and massive of " Su-So " That almost cover the entire shore. It is my first time to see like this in my 31 years of existence. I never knew that it could possibly breed these unable to count sea creatures.
Then you can make a delectable dish like cooking it with coconut milk " Su-so sa ginataang gabe " or a healthy soup perfect relief during rainy seasons.

The Su-so shells are also best material for making jewelry chest, customize mirror, chandeliers, wall frames, decorative console, and many more.

bay9.jpg

Look at these collisions of shells at the shore where it looks like an accumulated mud from far. But try to zoom the image slowly and tell me what you can say about it.

bay14.jpg

What I always did when I am at the beach is to write my name on the sand using a piece of stone. Where most of the kids love to do this thing and I consider myself as one of them. Feel free to imagine that you are still young acting like a child.

bay11.jpg

Bacolod and other nearby cities never enjoy having black-sand beaches. Because most of the best white sand beaches can be found only in Northern and Southern Negros. Which is too far from our place that we need to travel 4 hours or more than that just to experience the blue water. But, this black-sand is very useful that we were able to make thousands of solar panels made from silica. Where most of the cities now are using Solar Energy that can supply electricity numerous amount of household every single day. However, having black-sand beaches is not bad at all.
IMG_20181019_160704.jpg

The presence of these tall coconut trees always added beauty to every beach. As far as I know why these coconut trees are mostly grown in the nearby sea. Because of the water waves that brought these coconut fruits to the seaside. Then after a couple of years, there are a new set of coconuts growing side by side.

bay10.jpg

bay8.jpg

After taking multiple photos I decided to go home as I need to walk for more than an hour again. While I'm on my way home I found this sugarcane flower or " Bilaho "in Hiligaynon beside the street. For your information, Bilaho is only visible every other 2 months and the flowers are collected to make dust brooms and the long stems are used to support the flying fireworks during December.
IMG_20181019_161718.jpg

IMG_20181019_161729.jpg
I finally got home after my four hours travel walking adventures. Though my feet hurt so bad still I am proud to myself that I was able to complete the challenge successfully.

The most important thing that I learned from this adventures are the lessons. That no matter what will happen along your journey whether your expectations are not met or you fail to pursue your plans. You must learn how to find an alternative way despite disappointments.

bay15.jpg

All images are taken using my Vivo mobile phone

Just leave your comments, upvote , and resteem Thank you for visiting!!

Sort:  

Dear @jezmacher,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Lovely post! and great photoes. Thaks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47