Welcome To Isla Mujeres 🌴steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Where turquoise meets white and skies turn pink. Where chaos meets calm and time stands still.

 
We said goodbye to Tulum one week ago. I felt nervous as we boarded the local bus to Cancun and I couldn't figure out why. I guess heading to another unknown destination for a month had me feeling uneasy. You never quite know what you're going to get when you book an Airbnb. And a month can be such a long time if you hate a place.

Buuut turns out, we love it here on Isla Mujeres. We may even stay longer. Rent's cheap, food's good and the skies are spectacular. Not to mention the beautiful Caribbean water that surrounds this place is off the chart!

LRM_EXPORT_20180728_100952.jpg


Isla Mujeres is a small island 13kms off the coast of Cancun, Mexico. It's only 7kms long! The island is well known for its snorkelling and scuba diving. It's also home to one of the top 10 beaches in the world, Playa Norte.

We're staying mid island and the local food in our colonia (neighbourhood) is pretty darn good. It took us a little while to feel settled here, mainly because it's so busy. I'm definitely happy that we're residing away from the main tourist hotspot as it's crazy hectic up there.

My Spanish is improving. I can now order tacos, pay for tacos and give my huge thanks for said tacos, all in Spanish.

Here's a look at some of the things we've seen so far:

Playa Norte

Picture turquoise coloured water and soft white sand. That's Playa Norte, or North Beach. This beautiful beach is rated one of the best beaches in the world. Most nights, you can catch a stunning sunset from here, with a Corona in hand. It's a busy place and it's easy to see why.

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_143306.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_142950.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180728_100539.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180728_101259.jpg


Rocky Beach

This is our local beach. It actually doesn't have a name on the map but Rocky Beach sounds fitting don't you think? There are so many cool rock formations on the Eastern side of the island and our local is no exception. We've spent a lot of time swimming and snorkelling here this past week. Most days we have had the beach to ourselves too. And I've been having a lot of fun messing around with longer shutter speeds on my camera.

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_135809.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_141229.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_141425.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_141838.jpg

P7250590-isla-mujeres-rocky-beach-sunset.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_140836.jpg


Stunning Skies

I love that I'm able to watch both the sunrise and the sunset over the water. There's just something so romantic about island skies. They're always so dramatic. The other night we watched the full moon rise up over the ocean, and then some lightning showed up too.

P7260658-isla-mujures-sun-rising-over-caribbean.jpg

P7270784-isla-mujeres-vibrant-sunset.jpg

P7260643-isla-mujeres-beams-in-sky-sunrise.jpg

P7270849-isla-mujeres-ben-cliff-lightning.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_142717.jpg

Rocky-beach-isla-mujeres-sunset.jpg


So Much Colour

Take a look at all this colour! There's so much street art, plus most of the businesses and homes are painted strikingly bright colours too. It's so nice to walk around and check them out. Sure beats grey!

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_143800.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_143737.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_143710.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_143645.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180727_141941.jpg

elegant-1769669_1280.png

Isla Mujeres is so full of life. Each colonia more chaotic and vibrant than the last. Locals running businesses from the windows of their homes and live music fills the streets each and every night.

From the tourist packed Northern end, to the rocky shores of the South, I look forward to showing you more of this beautiful island. In the meantime, I'm off to eat more tacos.

JessicaOutside-logo-blue.png

Thanks for reading. If you'd like to know more about my story and my path to full-time travel, please check out My INTRO

Sort:  

The beaches are breathtaking. I didn't even know that the sand can be so white!

And the sunsets and sunrises are just stunning! Those colors are so vibrant!

Everything is so colorful even the houses!

I'm so looking forward to see more! ❤

Aren't they insane? I couldn't believe my eyes when I first saw the water. All of the colours here are epic. Thanks for the follow. Look forward to following your journey as well 💙

Wow! Gorgeous. I never made it here.

EPIC EPIC EPIC! Everything is so over the top here. Love it 😍

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-30T15:59:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great photo, love the background

Thanks very much. I'm glad you like it

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jessicaoutside
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=welcome-to-isla-mujeres


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

O my, this is beautiful. I read about Cancun in the plane. Hope I will visit this once in my life. You're photos look amazing. I can see you love longexposureban colors just like me. Keep up the good work @Jessicaoutside
You rock!

Oh I hope you get the chance to visit. It is beautiful. Busy, but beautiful 😊 and thank you! Yes long exposures are definitely a favourite of mine. It's been a lot of fun playing with my filter near the ocean.

Wow that water colour in the first shot is amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86