You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Between Lebuh Armenian and Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling...

in #travelfeed4 years ago

Great stuff as usual AC, that carving you showed reminded me of something I found in a shop here in Atlanta, exTREMELY expensive (I thought)

No idea where it was supposed to be FROM or if it was authentic, or a knock off

Yes, that is $10,000 USD
Love the post, and welcome back @ackhoo

Sort:  

Awwww, thank you very much for the encouragement and support, @jerrytsuseer! :) I'm no expert but that looks sufficiently old and authentic... May be a Baba Nyonya (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peranakan) ('Peranakan', a Malay word)/Straits Chinese piece - a day bed, perhaps? There is a museum in Penang, the 'Pinang Peranakan Mansion' (http://www.pinangperanakanmansion.com.my/); 'Pinang' is the Malay reference to Penang (or 'Pulau Pinang' = Penang island) There! That should be enough reading material for you... :D

Good Morning @ackhoo, I will most certainly look up those links. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67597.54
ETH 3772.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55