Inday Clara Travels Solo #21: Buddhist Alms Giving Ceremony in Luang Prabang

in #travelfeed6 years ago

SUMMER TIPS.jpg

A 14th-century old Lao tradition still thrives in Luang Prabang, Laos – the Alms Giving Ceremony. A sacred practice performed by the Buddhist monks living in the Lao temples. These monks walk in procession to collect alms (food usually rice, fruits, and snacks) from the locals kneeling or sitting along the side of the roads. Locals do this to gain merit for their lives and the food collected by the monks serves as their meals for the day.

I asked for information from the hostel where I was staying about this ceremony. Luckily and coincidentally, the hostel attendant which is now my friend used to be a monk himself. I found myself smiling for the universe has been helpful with my travel adventures. So I asked him where I could watch this activity and he simply said: “just right outside the hostel”.

DSCF3969.JPG

DSCF3930.JPG

DSCF3970.JPG

So I woke up as early as 4:45 am the next day. I waited outside the hostel with my camera ready and a cup of coffee. It was already past 20 minutes, drank all my coffee but there was still no sign of the monks. I asked my friend nervously if the monks were really going to pass that side of the road. He assured me confidently. As we waited a few more minutes, I asked him for the do’s and don’t’s when it comes to observing this ancient practice. It is very important to be a responsible traveler and give the utmost respect for these sacred rituals and practices.

So here are a few things to keep in mind when observing the alms giving ceremony:

  • Take photos from a distance preferably across where the monks are passing by.
  • Camera Flash is a big NO.
  • Silence is a must.
  • No talking to the monks.
  • Don’t hinder their path.

As the sky started to lit up, men clad in bright orange robes walked barefoot in one single line carrying what seems like a pot where they collect the gifts given by the locals waiting silently along the pavement. I was mesmerized by the sight I witnessed. Buddhist monks of old age lead the group while the young ones followed behind. The devotion of these alms givers was evident. The monks walked past in a meditative silence.

DSCF3945.JPG

DSCF3946.JPG

DSCF3966.JPG

The sun was finally coming out and I decided to walk further down the road at a near intersection. There were other travelers like me also observing from a distance. As I stood there, different groups of monks came from other directions and collected their alms as well. They finished this ceremony by chanting prayers to the almsgiver. As soon as they were done, the Buddhist monks went on their way while the locals tidied up their belongings and left.

DSCF3978.JPG

DSCF3981.JPG

DSCF3985.JPG

As for me, I headed my way back to my hostel. My friend asked me how was the experience and I told him it was amazing. Amazing in a sense that I get to witness a 14th-century sacred tradition that still is being practiced to this day. I hope that this will continue to thrive in the future preserving Laos’ cultural heritage.

Thank you for reading fellow amazing Steemians!
Stay tuned, Steem On and Always remember:

2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @indayclara your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

That is an amazing experience. We did this a few years ago.. except my hubby shocked our guide by asking when did we get to "fgeed the monks" The look on her face was priceless! Looking forward to reading more adventures

Voted and followed

Found your post on the @steemitworldmap's Daily Travel Digest

Hey @shellyduncan! Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to read this! Your hubby made sure your trip was a memorable one. He is the funny one for sure.

I am a fan of @steemitworldmap as well. Makes it easier to find blogs about place I want to travel.

Followed you back! See you around.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=indayclara
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=inday-clara-travels-solo-21-buddhist-alms-giving-ceremony-in-luang-prabang


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @indayclara!

Your post has been chosen to be curated by the SteemRepo curators!

Thank you for sharing this travel feed. Its really nice to see people giving to others especially from these Monks. Because of the way we see them as our opposing religion, their reputation is also damaged. But if I were to summarize all and the messages from the photos you took. The title would be "Faith in Humanity restored"

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @gamsam to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This was really amazing to see @indayclara. Kusug biya kaayo ko mo kuhag picture sa mga monk. Naa biya ni dark side :( so sad. If you research further, the monks felt so abused kay mura sila ug human zoo. Mag mass quitting unta sila pero ni ingon ang government nga if they would, ilisan na lang sila ug artista para padayun ang show.

Hey @fotografia101.. This is new to me. Seriously, wala ko kabalo ani. So far, katong na storya nako na monk wala man siya gishare na bati about ani na tradition nila. So sad to hear if that is true.

That is indeed amazing. The time of the day, the silence -- I believe those adds weight to the moment and to the experience overall. It makes one want to witness and be part of this, too. Can you interact with them though after that?

Thats very true.!

Yes. You can interact with them after that. They actually like talking to foreign travelers so theybcould practice the English language!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40