Latrabjarg Bird Cliff - Westernmost Point Of The Europe

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Latrabjarg is one of Europes biggest bird cliffs. The place is located on Iceland and is one of the most visited locations on Westfjords due to the bird colony, dramatic landscape and its easy to access there by car. This line of cliffs is 14 kilometers long and up to 441 meters high. Cliff itself is as steep as it can get, if you watch down over the edge it makes you pretty dizzy. If you want to see puffins ( Iceland's icon bird ) then you should definitely go there, of course, there are other species too. Birds there seemed to be pretty fearless and you can go very close to them, that is probably because there are no predators to hunt them and they are used to humans.

DSC_0083.jpg


DSC_0079.jpg


DSC_0081.jpg

Because they let me come so close means I had many great shot opportunities as they were doing their things. I also carried a 300mm lens with me so I could also get nice close-ups. It was a little scary to walk on the very edge of the cliff but great shots won't capture themselves.

DSC_0077.jpg


DSC_0084.jpg


DSC_0086.jpg

This is the cliff I walked along. Latrabjarg is the westernmost point of Iceland and therefore also a westernmost point of the whole of Europe. When I stood on the very edge of the country, at that moment I thought that I am the westernmost person of Europe on land right now. Pretty cool to think about this that way.

DSC_0088.jpg


DSC_0089.jpg


DSC_0092.jpg


DSC_0097.jpg


DSC_0101.jpg


DSC_0102.jpg


DSC_0103.jpg


DSC_0106.jpg

Unfortunately, I was a little off schedule and didn't have much time to hike any further and take more landscape photos but that is okay. There is always next time! Amazing place it is there.

DSC_0105.jpg




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

Great post! Your photos are so bright, colourful and alive! They are like from "Animal Planet" magazine... Nice shots

Haha, thanx! I love vibrant colors and strong colors. This is usually how I want my photos to turn out.

These are cute wonderful looking birds.

Yeah, they are. I bought one toy bird like this from the local gas station lol.

Amazing photos!! Puffins are so beautiful. Thank you for sharing😊 Iceland is a place I must visit in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanx! Yes, Iceland is definitely a place you have to visit at least once in your lifetime. It is so different.

Puffins are beautiful looking birds. Those cliffs are really steep. I saw a program the other day where they were catching Puffins and eating them. I hope it doesn't catch on.

Yeah they are. I haven't heard Icelanders eating them, strange.

It was on one of Gordon Ramsey's shows that I saw them catching Puffins and cooking them.

Oh ok, well I like Ramsey but screw him :D

Wonderful images, thank you for sharing them

Thanx! No problem.

Wow, nice photos. Latrabjarg is a beautiful place to visit and I like the puffins a lot. Their name is as cute as them :D It's also interesting to know that they do not get scared easily by humans. So, you must have got enough time to look at those pretty creatures. I'm glad you visited the cliff and shared about it. Have a good day.

Thank you! I actually was inna hurry there, I would have wanted more time to explore this area there.
Have a good one you too!

Hey @greddyforce, awesome photo series. The birds just look to cute to be true :D
Your first pictue, I mean just WOW!
Which camera did you use?
Hope to see more cool photo series from you!
Cheers,
M

Thanx. Yea, they really are. I used Nikon D5600 and Nikon 70-200mm lens for this.

It's sure an amazing place...
But love the fact that the birds are not scared of humans coming close to them.... They love freely.. I think that's amazing

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, they are awesome little creatures!

Hello there @greddyforce!

Oh my! Your pictures are wonderful. Truly each shot taken I am in awed. The cliff was far more breathtaking..Yes! I almost felt a little nausea hahaha.. it was huge and tall and grand but just as beautiful as it is.. Just wow! I swear I could feel the wind brushing against my skin..

Good thing you were able to capture up close shots of the birds.. and its great the birds arent disturb and does not mind you taking pictures of them. I bet they wanted you to snaps a few a guess.

I hope you could take more pictures! I love every bit that you had shared today..

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Nature was really amazing there and yes some Puffins looked like they enjoyed me taking photos of them :D

I bet it was amazing.. hahaha they are probably celebrities, they are used in dealings with some papparazzi around..

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, yeah probably :D

ooo such an amazing birds in there and at first i nearly thought of them as duck but after i started reading i saw it as a different bird all together. I really loved the flow of your blog and every word in there was worth reading. Great work and i hope to see you around with more amazing blogs soon.

Haha, well thanx! No ducks here XD

Haha..... Thought as much. But they are replaced with awesome birds

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61205.14
ETH 3376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51