It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves...

in #travelfeed6 years ago

For many on the Steemit platform it's all about meme's, an image with scant text, maybe a line identifying the camera-phone or camera the random image was taken with or some such other post. However there are also many great author's crafting excellent pieces on many various topics; Authors who write with passion and intellect often beyond their years. That's the nature of social media I suppose; It's open to all and sundry and one can post pretty much anything at all; Even scrubbers like me.

I'm not a great writer, certainly no Chaucer, J.R.R. Tolkien, Stephen King, Virginia Woolf or William Shakespeare. I'm bound by my intellect and ability but write nonetheless and enjoy doing so. My livelihood is never going to depend on my writing fortunately; It's just a hobby, something to pass the time and exercise my brain a little.

As a man who likes to write it is probably no surprise that I also like to read and I have my favourite writers of course, Tolkien and Raymond E Feist among others. One writer I'm not so much of a fan of is Shakespeare though. Sure I respect him as a writer but his style doesn't do much for me. Still, it didn't stop me for visiting his grave and home town, Stratford-Upon-Avon recently when I was in the UK. I visited the house he was raised in and walked through a museum dedicated to him then walked up to the Church of the Holy Trinity where he lies buried.

The image to the left is his actual grave within the church. It's open to the public for a fee (they call it a donation). I can't recall what the suggested donation was but I think it was 7 pounds (just under $14 AUD). It's pretty steep I think however the old building (the church) must cost a fortune in upkeep so I guess it's fair. You can see a plaque in the image, depicting the words selected by Shakespeare himself, to be engraved upon his grave stone.

Good friend for Jesus's sake forebear, to dig the dust enclosed here. Blessed be the man that spares these stones, and cursed he that moves my bones.

To this day his grave has been left undisturbed, out of respect or maybe fear of his curse. I'm not sure which.

I spent the day in the town, a very busy little town crowded with throngs of people eager to learn more about the life of the great writer or simply grab a selfie with his house in the background for their Twitface account. Either way it makes for an extremely busy place. The town itself is quite nice with the Avon running through, some very nice old buildings and of course the main attraction itself. All things Shakespeare.

I'm glad I visited as I can now say I've been there although to be honest it's definitely not one of the highlights of my UK trip. It was good, nothing more, nothing less. I'm sure there are people who would place it high upon their list of places to go though which is apparent considering the many people that were there although if you're not a massive fan of the man one could quite happily not go I think. I guess it comes down to personal choice.

I wonder what future generations will make of what you and I write on the blockchain and if anything we post will hold any value for people four of five hundred years in the future as does the work of William Shakespeare? I hope so. I mean my writing won't but hopefully out there somewhere is someone whose writing is that enduring. Maybe it's you? Maybe your destiny holds more than is apparent right now...

After all as the great man wrote:

"It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves."
– William Shakespeare

Sort:  

I decided to open steemit and I don’t know why but I thought « probably Galen posted something now » and your post was the first on my feed :D Telepathy!

I think that your livelihood can depend on writing ✍️ 🙃

They say great minds think alike Daniela. Now we know it to be true! :)

Yes this Knight has been to Stratford- Upon-Avon too. Would have been a beautiful place to visit regardless of Mr Shakespeare.

Now this Knight was a little put out by the 'not a fan of Shakespeare (as an author)' remark. It is kind of like saying as far as footy players go, I'm not much of a Ricky Ponting fan.

.....

had not finished.

WS is a playwright - his work is meant to be performed and enjoyed by an audience. And in this field - he is without equal.

SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

And therein lies the proof he is not my favourite writer, playwrite or sonnet writer. I know not what he is even.

“No legacy is so rich as honesty.” William Shakespeare

I've never believed that Shakespeare was meant to be read, but seen. I was only able to fall in love with him by watching his plays, reading them afterward, but then I already loved the words :D

Who knows what the world will be like in 500 years if they'll even remember the blockchain (blasphemy, I know, but possible)... I think they will, some of them at least, as we ourselves have a fascination for things that once were. A glimpse into the past and all that.

Who knows what the world will be like in 500 years if they'll even remember the blockchain (blasphemy, I know, but possible)... I think they will, some of them at least, as we ourselves have a fascination for things that once were. A glimpse into the past and all that.

500 years is a long time. Go back 500 years and our modern world was vastly different. Life expectancy was around 35 years, 13 year old girls were married off 9they were considered middle aged at that age) and humans didn't hold as tightly to life...We remember it because people write things down and we can read them still, as we can with writings from 2500 years ago and longer.

In 50 years who knows if the blockchain will exist? I'm sure people thought the 3.5" floppy disk was a great and secure way to hold information and now...?? Not so much huh?

Nothing, or very little, gets written down and if it does it's on Facechat or Instatwit...Turn the power off and it's lost forever...

Oh I know that, and I'm sure our world as it is now will be remembered through stories and through things that are written down. Perhaps on the blockchain, perhaps on mere paper. That is of course, if our world still exists in 500 years.

Probably unlikely that life as we know it will be around in 500 years. No animals, just plastic bottles and botox-lips.

Toes, by any other name would smell as feet; a nose, by any other name would smell as well.

I don't recognize the quote...Dr. Zeus? :)

All mine, that one :)

Well, it's legit :)

It must have been interesting to see his grave. Even if you don't appreciate his writing style, you still got to see the grave of one of history's most well-known writers.

Hopefully most of what is written here isn't remembered. Most of it is just stuff we put out there to have something to say. And the spam can just go away. Steemit might eventually be know for "good post!" That's not something that people are going to care to remember. Ha ha.

The entire visit to Stratford-Upon -Avon was worthwhile doing and we had a great day. It's a lovely little place regardless of it's history.

I agree with you, "good post dear, keep going" may be the most enduring words left behind by Steemit. Well, not by you and me mate, our work is pure, unadulterated genius. :)

"good post dear, keep going. I follow you. Hollaback, girl."

:D

(I think that's one of the best comments that I've ever written and I'm super happy about it. I need to find more exciting things to do.) :)

Some of his quotes I find the most beautiful in the English language. I often wonder how much of his play performances are really understood by different audience members, though. I sometimes look at a piece of dialogue, then read the notes provided by a reputable source, and see how little I understood the first time (maybe because of language changes through the years) -- and that is after careful study and not hearing it at the speed of regular speech.

I've seen a few of Shakespeare's plays done as movies and quite enjoy them. I have difficulty reading his work though. I've been known to quote him at times though, when the situation arises when nothing but a quote from the great man will do.

Thanks for commenting. Greatly appreciated.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.200 which ranks you at #2812 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 13 places in the last three days (old rank 2799).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 18.18% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64