Diplomatic relations at the pub: Two Aussie's travel the world

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Tonight we spent some time in the pub and got talking with one of the waiters and a few other tourists who were there eating also. We were all from different countries: England, New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, Germany and Faith and I from Australia and we got to comparing the similarities and differences between our countries, as usually happens. We were a group of 15 people, all previously strangers, and as dinner turned into desert, coffees and beers the conversation went from comparing each other's holiday's to our respective countries' weather and other mundane things to comparing swear words and sporting prowess, each obviously claiming that our own swear words were the best. By this time the girls had tuned-out and formed their own group discussing whatever girls do when they get together; The blokes moved off to discuss blokey-man-stuff like sports. Sports turned into challenges and before long we were setting up the pool table and throwing down the gauntlet to each other in pursuit of ultimate victory and the glorious accolade of king of the table.

As often happens things started getting competitive pretty quickly, alliances were formed, broken and re-formed... and then the two sides squared off: England, Germany and New Zealand versus Ireland, Australia and Canada. We took to the table and played and played...

One of the best things about travelling for us is meeting new people and sharing experiences and tonight we certainly did that. We started off as individuals quietly eating at our respective tables and at the end of the evening were a (probably too rowdy) bunch of people having a great time together. I guess some may say it was the alcohol talking but I'd have to disagree...I had one beer all night and a few of the group hadn't touched an alcoholic drink at all. We were just a bunch of people hanging out being friendly and having a good night. It was really great fun.

Faith and I are reasonably closed when at home, we purposely have a small friends group and keep to ourselves more often than not; We're not elitist or rude to people, we just prefer our own company mostly. We tend to be a little more open on holidays though and tonight was a great example.

It's nights like these that add to the experience of travelling for us; Meeting new people and experiencing life through their eyes or perspective. It was a really nice night spent with some great people from many walks of life. It was polite and courteous, irreverent and boisterous and simply a whole lot of fun. Just for the record the Anglo-Germanic-Kiwi team slaughtered the Irish-Aussie-Canadian challengers. It was brutal. But great fun. It's on again tomorrow night too! Mixed doubles though which should be interesting. If only the world's issues could be sorted out as amicably huh?

Thanks for reading

Faith & Galen x

Sort:  

This is a perfect model for how nations should resolve issues.

I didn't see any pics of supper or dessert though! Lol

Haha, yeah I got into the food before I thought to take a pic. I’m not into photographing my food usually and forgot. It was a beef and mushroom stew served on a trencher with a side of buttered and herbed vegetables.

A trencher is a flat or round piece of bread used as a plate prior to the introduction of the plate here in the mid 1500’s. It was used and then consumed or thrown to the dogs. It may also have been given to the poor occasionally. A pretty cool way to eat food I think. It soaked up all the gravy and flavour then I ate it! :)

That sounds awesome! I love a game of pool and nothing better than battling it out with a few laughs and new friends. I can imagine the conversation would have been interesting as well, there would have been a lot of differences and similarities. A good way to get perspective on the world... Good luck in the rematch mate! And if you are getting absolutely slaughtered never give up, remember Steven Bradbury 😉

I tried to do a good old Bradbury but the other team didn’t capitulate like Steve Bradbury’s did. We’ll get them tomorrow night!

It was such good night though. Thanks for commenting.

Ps. I learned some awesome German swear words. :)

World disputes decided over a game of pool definitely sounds the way to go ;)

What town are you in now?

Bath, Somerset. Heading to Chipping Campden at the top of the Cotswolds soon.

Never been to the Cotswolds, but it's supposed to be lovely. Looking forward to the photos.

We've heard it's nice and we have a couple of days planned ranging out from there so should be good. Hopefully the great weather holds and I can get some good photos.

Bloody awesome mate. What a night to remember. I love it I must say. I owned a pub many years back and pool competitions were a great hit and strangely, many chaps that used to eyeball each other became teammates around the pool table. What a way to share and respect differences of language and culture while having fun.

A really warm and well received post bud

You owned a pub? That’s pretty cool. Yes, the evening was nice overall and it’s amazing how a group of strangers can all get along so well.

I did, then I took on a partner and not log after that did not own a pub anymore. Hmmm. Glad you guys had a kickass evening.

Oh, yeah I had a business partner once too. Sounds like yours and mine were peas in a pod and we both suffered similar fates.

Sad isn't it? Mine came to me tears in the eyes begging for an opportunity and robbed me blind. I'd love to open a pub & restaurant again, but combine it with some rooms like in a small hotel type setup. I enjoy people and seeing them have fun and entertaining them is great.

Yes, but these things tell us a little about who we are as people man. I’m pretty hard to knock over, if you know what I mean. What happened to me almost ended me but here I am! Made me harder as a person for sure, but also taught me many lessons. I’m sure it did you also.

Very true mate, don't think we're made for living on our knees. Life is full of lessons for those who choose to learn and improve. What happened if I may ask?

You got a 27.67% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08