Blue's and green's: Two Aussie's travel the world

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Hey guys, we're coming at you from Bideford in North Devon tonight! Wow, what a day we had today...Loads of walking but well-worth the effort in our opinion. We've just had a nice meal of traditional fish & chips and have returned to our B&B (Orchard Hill Hotel) to settle in for the night and work out some plans for tomorrow, and of course to bring you some photos.

I'm going to lead-off tonight with an image of the lovely Faith, my "better half!". This was taken at Boscastle which is where we stayed last night. We walked down to the harbour mouth, seen in this image, before breakfast as I knew the morning light would give me a different perspective from than the images taken last night when I was forced to shoot into the sun. We then enjoyed a lovely English breakfast together and chatted about the day before departing.

From Boscastle we headed about 6 miles to Tintagel Castle. During the Victorian era there was a lot of romanticising about the Arthurian legend and it was rumoured Tintagel was linked to King Arthur. I don't think there's any fact to back that up but it's a good story. I wanted to visit it as I love old things as you know...Don't worry, if you're not old it doesn't mean I don't like you! This image is quite obviously of me but over my right shoulder (your left) you can see the ancient walls of what was once a big castle built by Richard, 1st Earl of Cornwall in the 13th century. You can probably also make out a bridge which is the only way to get to the island.

This second image shows it a little better minus the me-distraction. We walked around the cliffs opposite the castle then down the mountain to sea level. See that cave to the left at the bottom? That's rumoured to be Merlin's cave and it's accessible to people at low tide.

This image was also taken at Tintagel but from the opposite side of the island from the first two. I included it because I like it. Through the wildflowers you can see a little bit of the ocean and the cliffs on the left are part of the island where the castle sits. On this side the Parish church and graveyard sits in open fields of wild flowers...Yes, I have images but I don't want to bore you.

This image shows the path we walked on. It as quite steep in places and care must be taken because there's so much amazing scenery one tends not to watch their footing. It was a great hike around the bluffs and down to sea level with a beautiful vista at every turn.

From Tintagel we headed north towards Bideford however we stopped in at a lovely little village called Clovelly. The village has only one street with several very narrow little alleys running off it. There are no vehicles permitted in the town as the cobbled street is simply too narrow and steep.

The villige winds its way down an almost vertical hill to the sea and the whitewashed cottages are festooned with flowers. This picturesque street leads one to the small harbour and the Red Lion Hotel at the bottom. The village is unique in that it's been privately owned by the same family since 1738...Yes, you read that correctly!

On our way down we stopped and spoke with a local who was tending her garden and she was telling us that her car stays at the top and when deliveries arrive or she is bringing her supplies in she pulls them down on a wooden sled. Just as she was saying so one of her neighbours came past pulling one with his grocery shopping on it. There are resident donkeys there also which haul the heavier items.

We wound our way down the steep street to the harbour at the bottom and wandered up breakwater wall and the pebble beach for a bit and also ate some ice cream (Cornish Vanilla, if you're wondering). The whole area was just so peaceful and we wondered how stress-free living there would be...Except for the very steep walk up and down every day.

P1060919.jpg

This image is the lovely Faith, on the cobbled street heading towards the harbour below. It was very steep in places and of course quite uneven so some care must be taken. The views are spectacular.

The houses in Clovelly are all whitewashed and the contrast of the white walls against the ocean was lovely. We were lucky there wasn't a lot of people around so my photo's show off the views and scenery rather than tourists. I have a strong aversion to having anyone other than us in my photos and have an amazing skill to block them out of my photo's when I have to. It's a thing, I just can't help it. :)

I took this one more to show the contrasting colours...The green against the blue just seems to make me feel relaxed and calm. I took this from the spot beside where Faith is standing against the wall a few images back. You can see the green creeper next to her on the edge of the wall. It seems everywhere one looks in this part of the world there's another shade of blue or green. I love it...

This final image was taken on the pebble beach looking back towards the harbour. As you can tell from the angle of the shot I had to get my old bones bent and way-down-low to take this one. I hope you appreciate the effort. This little village has to be on your list of things to visit if you are in North Devon at any point. It costs money to get in, about 7 pounds or so, but is worth avery bit of it. You should allot about 3-4 hours to see it all and also spend some time at the bottom, more if you want to eat at the pub.

And so, another day comes to a close. We are nestled in our room which over looks the river in Bideford and after I post this will look into tomorrow's festivities. I hope you have found some value in this post. I didn't want to make it a long one so I have omitted certain parts of it like the Parish church and Post Office at Tintagel which are very interesting in their own right. I hope you don't mind. I actually took 323 photo's today and only picked out a selection for you. I will post more at some other time along with some more in-depth research on these amazing places. Thanks for following on our journey.

Faith & Galen x

Sort:  

Magnificent! Maybe Merlin’s ancestors come from that cave! You’ve got to let me paint some of your photos they’re so beautiful.

I was wondering when you would ask to paint something of mine! I saw your painting you did if @tarazkp’s dog - Such good work @stuffing. But then knowing you as I would expect nothing less.

Maybe when I’m home you can go through all my pics and you can select the one you want. I’ve taken between 280-320 photo’s each day. Seriously.

Oh yes the only reason I haven’t done one yet is because I can’t choose! They’re all so beautiful and inspiring :) I think the maze is my fav so far

Well, we will get together and make something happen for sure. I’d be honoured to have you recreate one of my images.

Yes please I am excite!!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

Great photography as usual mate. What a beautiful place, I definitely could live there. Imagine owning a whole village. The colors are bright and vibrant and those whitewashed cottages set against the blue backdrop with the amazing greenery is picture perfect.

Have fun guys. Looking forward to the next adventure

I tried to copy and paste it, but it keeps showing an error. The 3rd photo is absolutely stunning. I love how both bodies of water are visible in the photo and the back drop of the ruins are spectacular!

I really superb shot!

Beauriful photos and great looking weather.

So beautiful! I've never been to that part of the world, but your photos have changed my mind. I love the history there, and the fact that so much has remained like "before". The narrow streets down to the water and the photo of that little white house (I know they're all white haha) were so awesome.

Nice job bending the old bones for some of those photos too. Imagine the shape you'd quickly be in walking that hill every day. Very nice, thanks @galenkp!

Isn't funny too how you imagine living somewhere when you holiday there. We do that all the time, and well....I guess we finally did exactly that:) I wonder if a little place like this would get to be a bit too slow? Although I don't know about you, but I've reached a point in life where slow is ok...I don't need to "do" too much to stay happy.

Thanks again for sharing your trip here; I really do appreciate it. And in some weird way, I feel like I'm getting to know Faith as well :)

Happy travels and stay safe!

That village is so tight it made me feel claustrophobic looking at it! The locals must love it though and it is in a very pretty place :) And damn being owned by the same family for the better part of forever, that's some dedication! Love that beach shot down the bottom, the beaches there are even shinglier than the ones back home.

goatsig

Thanks! The beach is very pebbly indeed. It’s nice though. I reckon it’d take some dedication to live in Clovelly for sure.

Wow! Some brilliant photos, and magnificent scenery. Beautiful place.

Thanks @positiveninja when planning this trip we wanted to go to places other people we know have not been. Sure, they’re all tourist places but we have selected them based on their interest to us only. Maybe not conventional places people would visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45