You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What To Do When Your Phone Gets Lost Or Stolen (While Living) Abroad

What if, instead of flying back home, you buy a short flight to a neighboring country. Then you can buy a new phone at the Duty-Free shop. I bought my phone in the Airport in Quito and the prices seemed about the same as in America. I think I remember seeing phones at the Hanoi Duty-Free, but I'm not sure. It's probably worth researching this a little before trying it.

Or maybe it's possible to have a friend/family member buy you a phone from Amazon and then mail it to you? I mention Amazon because they sell unlocked phones in America now (they didn't a few years ago when I was looking for a new one). Your unlocked phone will work with an AT&T sim card when/if you go back to the States.

Either way, I'd use this as an excuse to end your AT&T contract. If you don't plan on being in the States for a year or two, it seems like a waste to keep paying AT&T. Or do they have good international rates on data/calls? I always used an unlocked phone and local prepaid sim cards (I do the same in America too, only pay $24 a month for more calls and data than I can use).

Losing my phone was one of my top nightmares when I was traveling. I hope you'll be looking back and laughing about this situation very soon!

Sort:  

Wow, I've never heard the duty-free shop thing before! I just figured I need to buy a used phone for sure, because prices for a decent phone are definitely way higher. I wish they had American prices for phones here.

Definitely debating the Amazon/ebay thing...I actually got one off of Craigslist, BUT I'm not sure if I want to risk sending it. I guess we could always get the package insured...hopefully it would cover the cost of a phone. I may just have to send my friend to the post office to check.

I agree about the AT&T...that's actually on my to-do list and I wish I did it before leaving. I'm only keeping it for my phone # because I've had it for 15 years and it's attached to all of my verification stuff.

When I go home next, I'll just put my old # on a google voice number. I tried to do it here, but apparently you can only do it from the US.

Wait, what company do you use in the US that's only $24? DEFINITELY ditching ATT now! Lol wow thanks for that tip, that's AMAZING info!!! I also use local sim cards. I have to switch them back and forth sometimes...and well ok, in Indonesia I never needed one so I never got one.

But I love overseas phone bills because they're usually between $5-$10/month.

Thank you!!

I use https://www.ultramobile.com/

I got the sim card at a cellphone store on the top floor of Lloyd Center. It's not perfect, but the price is right. They use the T-Mobile towers for their network. Wiki link

This is so perfect. So much win. Thank you!!

It's quite an interesting offer. I currently pay 15€ for unlimited calls and roaming Europe+USA+Canada with 15Gb/month.
This one is more expensive but offers unlimited 4G with extra countries!
However USA is not in their list, surprisingly… Do you know @fronttowardenemy if it's included too?

Yes, the USA is definitely included. I think they kept it off the list because the website is for customers in the USA.

Great to know. That's therefore a relevant subscription I can forward to friends!
Thanks for the tip :)

Oh, but wait a minute… this does not include roaming from this countries with unlimited data…
It's calling to these 75 countries I guess 😔

I'm not sure how they deal with roaming. I'd be very surprised if the data/call rates were the same as in the US. I had their sim card when I went back to Vietnam, but I didn't even try it. I just bought a local sim card when I arrived.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76