Glendalough - The valley of two enchanting lakes

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Glendalough

This beautiful historic glacial valley is about 45 minutes drive south of Dublin, Ireland and is part of every tourist tour that leaves the capital. People have been drawn here for thousands of years for its scenery, its nature and its tranquillity.



The narrow mountain roads are usually so busy with tourists I rarely visit but this week I wanted to spend some time out in the fine weather.

The Wicklow Way

Glendalough has some beautiful hikes over the Wicklow mountains and Bogland. It can be quite an experience hiking here especially when the winter fog drifts over the mountain.

It is not just for the hardy mountaineers, there are also trails for all abilities.

But it is not the hikes that attract the tourists though...


St. Kevin's Monastic Settlement



The main attraction is the Monastic City

In the valley near one of the two lakes is the ruins of a early monastic settlement founded in the 6th century by St. Kevin. The ruins are breathtaking and take you to another place.




Round Towers were the bell towers of early Irish Monasteries and were used to summon monks to prayer and as places of refuge.

The Cathedral dates from the 10th century and ceased to be a cathedral in 1214




There are many ruins in the site including St Kevin’s Church

Recommendations

The walk we did took us about 1 hour. The monastic site itself only takes about half an hour to visit. There are many places here where you can get food and refreshments but I would recommend bringing sandwiches and a flask of tea and enjoying a picnic while taking in the natural beauty of the landscape.

Let's Eat Picnic Spots

We have added our picnic spot using the Let's Eat Steem App so you will be able to find a good place to stop.

Trip Idea

Take a round trip to the Glendalough and stop at the Avoca Shop in Kilmacanoge on the way back to get some souvenirs or cake :)

  • Weather Dependent - Yes
  • Duration - 3-4 hours
  • Transport - Car
  • Suitability - All the family, couples, solo travellers both tourists and locals

Travel

Dublin - Glendalough Visitor Center - Avoca Kilmacanoge - Dublin

Dublin to Glendalough takes about an 45 minutes by car, depending on traffic.



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel.

Sort:  

I haven't been in Glendalough in 30 years but being so close to Dublin it used to be a bit of a favourite spot before it was overrun by tourists.

I have been there twice before but believe it or not this was the first time I visited the Monastery. When your there you don't really notice the tourists, its the drive that is the killer.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

It's nice to describe everything, I have to visit Ireland once, some regions remind me of my Polish country

I hope to visit Poland too. In recent years we have a made a lot of connections with the Polish community in Ireland.

I recommend Polish regions :)

It's nice place to picnik @eroche.
Wondeful atmosphere.

It was beautiful, the weather was great but even if its not the scenery is so beautiful it is worth it.

I remember being entranced when I visited there, about twenty five yesrs ago. I don't remember any tourists, I think I was the only person there. It was very tranquil and, although I am not religious, felt sacred in some way.

I agree. There is a powerful energy in this place for sure.

I agree. There is
A powerful energy
In this place for sure.

                 - eroche


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

@eroche That looks interesting to explore . Even I also used to travel alot.
Will definitely make plan to visit this place

Get More Upvote - FREE

steem.link/sbd

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74