You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wildcamping the West Highland Way, Day 2

in #travelfeed5 years ago

What a nice experience you have there and honestly, I am amazed knowing you don't have any companions at all. Some guts you have there and that is quite fascinating. It is such a good activity, trekking for some miles and putting up a camp for the night. You can have some exercise while witnessing the beauty of landscapes and scenery as you walk along. Truly an amazing way to explore your country.

By the next week or two, I will be doing that as well, but together with my friends. Maybe it will take 2 days and 1 night and I am really excited. Hopefully, I can endure long walks and difficult terrains. I am not into long walks for quite some time now, maybe you can give some advice on how to prepare oneself.

Anyway, your post is a wonderful share. Your outdoor activities are really great and I believe you really love it because you are enjoying it. Cheers to you, @natubat!

Sort:  

Thanks for your lovely comments @edencourage! I enjoy the solitude of a solo trek, but I also enjoy walking and camping with friends.
My advice for a long trek is to wear good quality comfortable walking shoes, bring at least two pairs of socks and wear two pairs at once - this can help to prevent blisters. If you're camping, take some dehydrated food, such as noodles, as it's so much lighter to carry. Drink lots of water. If you start to feel tired, just go slowly, take your time and enjoy the scenery. Don't try to rush it. Bathe your feet at night and do foot exercises after each walk. Just wiggle your feet and toes - you can do it in your bed at night. I hope you enjoy your trek!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80