You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk Challenge - Durban Point Waterfront

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Thank you for taking us on such a splendid walk! Durban is such a beautiful city, I actually had no idea it had so much in it! This is one of the reasons I love steemit and reading blogs about the culture of other parts of the world.

I love that they are revitalizing the area. It makes me sad that so many places decide to do that after it is too late. Sometimes it has nothing to do with money either.

How does it feel to look down in that canal and see hammerhead sharks? My heart raced a bit when you showed them. I can remember seeing them, dozens and dozens in the water I was swimming in, although not for long!!! It was off the coast of Florida and I lived there at the time.

A lovely post, @lizelle and I thank you for sharing such a beautiul piece of your country. Have a lovely Sunday!

!tip

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @lizelle!

@lizelle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Challenge - Durban Point Waterfront Feel free to follow @lizelle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

You're so right, they should not have allowed it to deteriorate like that but I think the problem also lies with the building owners, many who really just don't care about maintaining the buildings or maybe are no longer around. I know our local councilor was having a problem with some properties being invaded by squatters and when I looked up the ownership many of them were late estate properties where the family have moved away and can't be traced. Quite sad to think someone lived in those homes once upon a time and their children or family did not even care about them and probably never went to visit them!
But fortunately they have uplifted a large number of those properties already.
!tip .20

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76