You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👨‍👩‍👧‍👧 Khmerican Family Abroad | #6 - 🏖️Expat or 🏃🏿Immigrant❓

in #travelfeed5 years ago

I love this post!

I was an immigrant or expat or migrant once. From the USA to Australia. I probably felt more like an immigrant since I was there married to my Australian husband and living my life surrounded by Australian people. Expat to me always seems more temporary. Like all the Aussies or South Africans working on short term Visas in Europe. They come for a few years. Make a lot of money doing casual work. Travel a lot. Spend their time with people from their home countries and then wander home in three or four years.

Now I am back in the US and my Australian husband is the immigrant. Even as a tall, blue eyed, Australian white guy being a green card holding immigrant is a stressful in trump land.

Tons of people with zero clue about immigration, the process, the rules, the emotion that accompanies living so far from home... all suddenly have very strong, uneducated and vocal opinions on the whole process. Then they look even dumber when they say.... oh but we don’t feel this way about Australians or your husband...

Why? Cause you only feel that way about the brown immigrants?

Your story about your friendship circles in Cambodia reminds me of stories I have heard about cruise ships. I have several friends who have worked on cruises and I was in a different branch of tourism for several years. Cruise ship staff are generally from all over the world. But the above deck crew are usually from more affluent countries, while the galley staff, maids and crew with less guest interaction are from less affluent counties. Seems totally sketchy.

Anyway, your post perfectly captures the nuances of living abroad.

Sort:  

     It's funny how strong words are isn't it? Most Americans have a hard time to even associate the word "immigrant" with white-skinned people. By definition, the word has nothing to do with wealth, but yet society has created a secondary subtle subconscious meaning.

     It's funny you mention"cruise ships" too, because I know that world all too well. I have lots of Filipino friends, and also here in Suriname our landlord's daughter is a cruise ship worker, and she has similar stories. There is certainly a caste system within that world, not only with the job types and pay scales, but also who can be granted permission and trusted to leave the ship and return at ports of call.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61833.67
ETH 2414.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57