Walk with me - Runina & Tri studničky

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Last few days were probably the last warm and sunny days this year and I'm glad I could spend them at home with my family. Today I will take you on one of our day trips in Slovakia.

We will drive to a village called Runina and from there we will walk through the forest to Tri Studničky (Three wells).

I hope you are excited already!

DSC_0015.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

Runina

Runina is a small village in Eastern Slovakia surrounded by large forest. The village itself is not special but there is only one road to get there which makes it interesting. There is a parking place at the end of the village and you need to turn around and drive back because from this place you can only walk to the forest.

Our tour will start from here.

We will walk up the hill and follow the yellow tourist sign..

DSC_0067.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

Pass by an abandoned shed..

DSC_0016.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

Admire the views.. There is Ukraine on the other side of the forest..

DSC_0012.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

This is how home feels like..

DSC_0025.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

Today we were not the only ones hiking..

DSC_0027.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

Now we will finally enter the forest..

DSC_0029.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 22 mm

From now on our path will look like this..

DSC_0021.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

Runina and Tri studničky are located in Poloniny National Park. This National Park is the easternmost and least populated area of the country.

Many species found in the park are endemic and rare and most of them are endangered and protected.

We saw various butterflies, bugs, spiders, birds, fungi, plants and flowers. We were lucky not to come across any bears 😊

Anyone is free to pick mushrooms from the forest. As this forest is so large you may need to go with somebody local to be able to get back. And it wouldn't be me as I have issues to follow the clear tourist routes 😊

I've heard stories that even locals use little bells to be able to locate each other and to make some noise when they're alone mushroom picking to scare the bears off.

Here are photos of some natural wonders that we saw on the way through the forest.

Delicate Devil's-bit Scabious flower

1b.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/6.3 55 mm

A Bumble-bee resting on blackberry leaf

DSC_0092.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 55 mm

A perfect Cornflower

20180901_110612.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

Do you see the stinky bug?

20180901_110649.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

Forget-me-not

20180901_111613.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

A Bumble-bee resting on a thistle

20180901_113239.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

Perfect color combination - a yellow butterfly on a purple Devil's-bit Scabious flower

DSC_0085.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 55 mm

We are getting closer to Tri studničky. There are more tourist routes so be sure follow the yellow one.

DSC_0031.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

Here we are! Well, we still have to walk up the hill to the wells, but we can stop here for a moment and eat our snacks. There is no better place for a picnic with your family!

swoosh stretched.png

DSC_0035.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/9 18 mm

Tri Studničky

This is a pilgrimage place where believers come every year to honor the memory of the Virgin Mary, which as legend says appeared to a nine-year-old boy Juraj Regul in 1927. Nobody believed him at the beginning but after a while a teacher from the village started to clean and maintain the path from Runina with his students. He also hanged the Holy pictures on the trees.

Before the World War II there were people from nearby villages coming to the wells to get the water as it was said it had healing effects.

This place has been forgotten for a long time. In 1991, the place of revelation was restored by believers at the initiative of the Orthodox parishioner Mikuláš Rusič and since then there have been celebrations every year.

DSC_0039.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/9 18 mm

Let's go up and have a look!

DSC_0041.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/9 18 mm

There are just two wells on the photo but there is the third one on the left side 😊 We took empty bottles from home to fill them with the healing water. I don't know if it's really healing but it was cold and refreshing!

The mayor of Runina claims that the taste of each of the three Wells' water is different. But only people coming here often may be able to actually taste the difference.

Well, I was here for the first time and I tried the water from all of them and they tasted the same to me.

DSC_0043.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/8 18 mm

Around hundred meters further up there is a small chapel and a belfry. My mom was not that excited to walk further up but at the end she went with us.

DSC_0045.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/8 18 mm

The place is maintained by villagers from Runina and I must say it was very clean.

DSC_0048.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

The bell was created in Ukraine and brought here in 2012 after the chapel was constructed.

DSC_0107.jpg
ISO 100 1/60 sec. f/8 27 mm

The construction of the new chapel was funded by contributions from local donors. The chapel and the water in wells have been consecrated in 2012.

20180901_115420.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

We took a short break and sat on the benches for a few minutes before we went back to the car. If you recall this region is the least populated in the country so no wonder that the roads are deserted 😊

DSC_0005.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

It was a long day but I feel blessed that I was able to spend time with my family. We can't go to Slovakia as often as we would like to so when we are there we try to make the best of it!

swoosh stretched.png

Here is another photo from 'A photo of me taking photos' series 😊

20180901_111052.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

I hope you have enjoyed another walk with me!

All pictures are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II (except of the ones indicated in the text)

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Those are some beautiful pictures, thank you for taking us along with you on your journey. Now if you had some proof pics of the butterfly on the Delicate Devil's-bit Scabious flowers you would be a real contender in papa-pepper's combination photo contest. That was a really beautiful shot to me. It is also amazing how well cell phone pictures can turn out. Altogether a great post and loved all of the descriptive texts.

Oh, I don't have a proof photo! But thank you for telling me! I will start taking some in case I would like to use them for contests! I usually don't join contests but I was already thinking about doing it!

Cell phones nowadays can take amazing shots! Sometimes you don't even know if the photo is taken by a camera or a phone.

Thank you for your comment! I'm pleased you liked my post! 🤗

Well his contests pay out pretty well usually, I got a couple steem for a butterfly pic, then 8 steem for another pic. In the combination contest I think it is 50% of the liquid payout of the post for first. Which could range from $10 and I've seen them as high as 30 and 40.

Wow! These are amazing pay outs! Now you convinced me 🤩

Very nice pics of the flowers... and as always the scenery and history you show is really incredible! :)

A good place to contemplate and relax. A place to escape the city rush. A place where time seems to move a little bit slower and contrasts the fast paced urban life. It's a beautiful place and the person that restored the pilgrimage site didn't waste their time doing so.

Thank you for your valuable words. The place is exactly like you said! I would say it better!

What a nice place and refreshing. This would be a place if we want to get close to nature. I like your intro go together with a beautiful photos. Since I cannot visit there , but i can have a virtual travel based on your photos and story. This is really a nice place we like to go after a busy week, to relax our mind, and be grateful to the nature.
Thank you for a virtual walk with me.

Thank you for your lovely comment! This is what I'm trying to do.. to make people 'feel' that they are there with me :)

Unfortunately I can't go there very often but I do treasure every minute when I'm there.

I wish you a lovely day!

You have a nice day too!!

Thanks for the incredible series of photos and the description. I will probably never go there myself, but your series of photos makes me feel like I've (almost) been there, and like I should drop what I'm doing and just go in person right now.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Thank you for kind words! It's so nice to have you stopping by!

Maybe you should drop what you're doing and go travel! :) We should follow our dreams, shouldn't we? :)

That first butterfly is gorgeous! Another lovely post Martina! I always enjoy taking a walk with you, and this was no exception. You always add some beauty to my day. :)

I like the thought of drinking fresh water from the wells, perhaps they refresh you after all the walking you've done, hence its healing water! ^_^

Thank you for stopping by! You might be right! :) They say it is crucial to believe that it's healing. So I think it might cause a placebo effect too, LOL!

When i was in slovakia it was just for four days so we stuck to the capital city but obviously missed out on the better parts of the country. One of the people i work with is from there as well and happened to be going on the same flight as myself.

He did tell us to leave the city and see the real country but we had a group with us and couldn't make it work that time. Next time though, we will give it a proper go. Head out to the small towns and villages like yourself and see the historical sites.

Bratislava is not that great. There are much nicer places and your friend knows what he is talking about :)

I understand that you couldn't make it last time but I hope that the next time you'll make it work. It is really worth it! Slovakia is very different to any other European country and I'm sure you will love it!

Thank you for stopping by!

It was perfect for the group that we had. We only wanted a city break and change of scenery that time. Not the proper cultural experience.

And how did you like Bratislava?

It was a really nice trip actually. went with some old friends on short notice. Had a few nights out, went up to the castle. Nice and relaxing. Just what we needed.

Cool! I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's cute small city. And the night life there is great! :)

It must have been an exciting and fun day with your family.

That forset is really thick, its definitely easy for one to get lost in it, but it is filled with so much beauty- those flowers, butterflies, the bugs, they all are beautiful!! I love the "forget me not" flower more, its cool and the color is just perfect on it!

I love that colorful butterfly it feels so peaceful looking at it. And that one on that flower, it definitely is a perfect combination. Why is that flower called Delicate "Devil's-bit" Scabious flower though? My first time seeing it

The locals there do a great job in maintaining the beauty , I wonder why a place so beautiful and refreshing is the least populated though. On a second though, It might be for the best, such a refreshing place!

Tri studničky has some history, I would really love to taste the healing water from those wells that taste different, maybe it will taste different in my mouth for real.... Hahahah!

I love your photos!

Thank you for stopping by Audrey and for your kind words!

If you get lost there you might not even be able to call for help as there is very limited signal in the forest :) So I would not risk it! You are right! The nature there is breathtaking!

I have no idea why it's called like this :) In Slovak it's called differently and it doesn't really have a meaning. I love forget-me-not too! There were so many butterflies but they were too fast for me to take a photo..

There is not much work in the region and the infrastructure is horrible so many young people (like me) want to leave as the chance to get a good job there is very low. But then when they are older they will come back (I will hopefully come back too).

It could be! I didn't taste the difference but as I said it was refreshing so at that moment it was enough for me :) It was a very hot day and this was much needed refreshment!

Thank you again!

My Pleasure..

Its definitely too much of a risk to take. One needs to go with a tour guide or someone that know the forest well enough to walk through it. I would love to visit there someday.

There must be an interesting reason (or maybe not) why they call it that. I actually stared at it for a while trying to see if there is any thing related to "devil" there, but well, I saw nothing (lol). What's it called in Slovak?

It would have been amazing to have more shots of butterflies, they sure do fly fast... Thankfully, you were able to get a few shots and they were all beautiful!

Oh, I get it!! The lack of good jobs and infrastructure definitely is one of the things that scare the youths away, everyone wants a better place and opportunity to live up to their dreams and well, it doesn't seem to offer much in that aspect. How I wish something could be done about that...

With that much heat (and thirst), you probably wouldn't feel a thing...

Just perfect @delishtreats. I especially loved the bumble bee photos, on the blackberry leaf and the thistle. Wonderful captures!

Thank you Lyndsay! :) These are cute! I suck at the close up photography and I'm so glad that these came out like this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22