Switzerland travel series - part 3 Talalpsee

in #travelfeed6 years ago

I'm finally back with my Switzerland travel series! And I'm happy to show you one of my favorite places in this beautiful country - TALALPSEE.

DSC_0266.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 20 mm

There are so many rainy and foggy days in Schaffhausen area. It is mainly because of the valley and the Rhine river. When it's cloudy for a few days we like to go to the mountains during the weekend as the weather there tends to be much better. And we love nature!

It takes us just a bit more than an hour to get there by car and we both love the area so even though we should be preparing for our vacation we decided to have a relaxing afternoon instead.

Talalpsee is a small mountain lake located in the Canton of Glarus. It lies at 1100 m and it is surrounded by majestic Alps.

On the way there we drive by Walensee with its blue colored water. We continue up the hill on a narrow road. There are places where only one car can fit on the road so if you happen to come across a car from the other direction one must reverse and drive back for a few meters. It's very scary as the path is narrow and there is a steep slope on the side. This is why I always let my husband drive there 😊

The views are breathtaking. The road in the hills is 7 km long and there are a few places where you can stop and take some pictures.

DSC_0249.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

There were a few clouds and we hoped it wouldn't start raining.

DSC_0252.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 20 mm

A small hut above the village - same direction, different elevation.

DSC_0260.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

It's very common in Switzerland that the villages are built high up the mountains. Some places may only be accessible by cable car in the winter due to too much snow.

There are a few villages in the country that are completely car - free. It means that there is no road to get to the village and you can only get there by a cable car or by foot. If you happen to own a helicopter this would be an option too 😊

DSC_0268.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 26 mm

We are getting closer to the Talalpsee.

DSC_0270.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 23 mm

We have just approached the end of the road and now we have to walk to get to the lake. It's a very easy walk so I would not even call it a hike 😊 The area is very accessible even though it's deep in the mountains. You can either take a cable car or come by car.

DSC_0274.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

After a short walk we have reached the lake! We wanted to escape the rain in Schaffhausen but it looks like it will start raining here soon! The clouds are so grey! Hurry up!

DSC_0280.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

There are always many cows around. This time we didn't see them as we came quite late.

DSC_0287.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

This 'road' is used by the farmer who lives on the other side of the lake. We are allowed to walk there but he is the only one allowed to drive there.

DSC_0293.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

On the other side of the lake there is a small restaurant. They also have a few rooms if you drink too much and can't drive back the same day 😊 The restaurant is very cozy and the owner is very friendly. They serve some traditional meals with cheese or meat so we could only order some crisps but that was also fine. It was so nice to sit on a terrace and enjoy ourselves.

DSC_0295.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 20 mm

One lake and two completely different weather conditions at the same time.

The clouds were quickly moving in our direction but the sun was still peeking through the clouds. We finished our beverages and started to walk back to the car. The walk turned into running after the rain started to pour down.

DSC_0347.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

We were fast enough to reach the car before it started to rain heavily.

We had a great day and now we're ready to start packing for Mallorca!!

I hope you enjoyed another walk with me!

If you like my article feel free to upvote/resteem it or follow me.

All pictures are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

!steemitworldmap 47.095580 lat 9.133205 long Switzerland travel series - part 3 Talalpsee d3scr

Sort:  

Wow, these are spectacular snaps. My favorite is the lake reflection shot. What an amazing walk that must have been. I also love you post layout; it looks professional.

Thank you so much for your lovely words! It was indeed an amazing walk! :)

This is really stunning... You are so lucky to see things like this on a regular basis! Awesome post Martina!

Thank you Dave! I know! I feel blessed to be able to live here :)

@delishtreats you're welcome Martina and I'm glad you recognize it... Some never understand their blessings, but you certainly do :)

You have really nice content 😊 beautiful pics! I am looking forward to see more of them.

Thank you for your support Martha! :)

You are so lucky to have places like that to visit in your doorstep. Some fantastic photographs showing the beautiful scenery.

I know! I feel so blessed that I am able to live in this country :) Thank you for stopping by!

Wow what an awesome post @delishtreats!!! Funny you went to avoid the rain but it caught up with you anyway! I love all the photos😍 Switzerland is always beautiful! Do you ski? ( I had to ask haha) Oh WOW off to Mallorca next! You are a sizzling travel being!! I wonder where in the world we will catch up with each other 🤣❤️ Wherever it is I look forward to it. Blessings my friend. Resteemed🌈❤️🌴🦋💛

Thank you my dear Sallybeth! Hahaha, you're right! But at least we had a little bit of sunshine :)

Well, I don't. I'm afraid of breaking my limbs :D I prefer hiking - much safer in my opinion.

Mallorca, yay!! Can't wait! We're flying tomorrow in the afternoon!

I really hope to come to Costa Rica one day so it could be there :) It doesn't matter where it will be in the end, I'll be very happy to meet you anywhere :)

Haha that’s cool, yes u are quite correct, hiking is a much safer pastime. I am really looking forward to the photos and news from Mallorca. happy trails my friend! 🌈💛🌴🦋❤️

Thank you my dear friend!! I will do my best not to disappoint you :)

You're so lucky to have such a beautiful drive in your doorstep. It's a lovely post!

Thank you! I definitely am :)

Wow Martina I see why this is your favorite! I am a mountain girl and know I would love this place! Thanks for sharing, it is now on my bucket list of places to visit.

Thank you for stopping by! :) If you like mountains you would love Switzerland! It is a hiking paradise! I will bring more posts about mountains in the autumn :) If you would ever come here, just let me know and I can show you around :)

That would be so fun to meet you and see your beautiful country.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

PS: Did you know that you can support TravelFeed by claiming your free Byteball Bytes?

Thank you so much! Your support means a lot to me! ❤

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-21T15:46:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 130.00/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh my goodness, what a beautiful place and those houses look amazing!

Thank you! :) I'm glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52