You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: R2R Travelogue 11: Mendocino, California

in #travelfeed6 years ago

I love the way you write. Your posts are down to earth and friendly in the way you present them.

I'm pleased to see that you're enjoying your adventure and gaining new memories. I'm sure that your better half would love to be there with you :)

This place looks so nice. I've seen the ocean only once in my life and it was in Morocco. Before that I only knew sea. I was surprised to see how different it was. The sea I know is mainly calm while the ocean was rough.

Oh, I'm glad to see that you went for the extravaganza :D Sometimes you deserve some luxury in terms of your own bathroom ;) The room looks very nice. I like this style. And even with a 'work station'.. what else you can wish for, right? :)

I'm looking forward to read about your adventures with your siblings. How long haven't you seen them?

Thank you for the kind mention. And you are right! That's not old at all ;)

Have a lovely weekend my dear friend!

Sort:  

Thank you for your thoughtful contributions @delishtreats. I always enjoy them and our “engagement” (for some reason, I still get a kick out of that word, as prior to being online for the first time with our Steem blockchain, it meant something different to me … 😉).

Staying in one place this morning and catching up …

”I'm sure that your better half would love to be there with you :)“

In my original “plan my work” post for this trip, I explained my leaving for awhile was her idea. She knows me far better than anyone else. I needed some time alone to just get away and reflect on the “next chapter” of our lives. After a few days of reflection, then I am going to be with my siblings for several days. Then, I will be heading back home.

Her work of care for the those who no longer can take care of it fully on their own will be over at some point. After that, then we’ll head “out on the road” together! 😊

”I've seen the ocean only once in my life and it was in Morocco.“

It was a surprise to learn this. Although I now understand you are making a clear distinction between ocean and sea. I had never really given much thought to that before your mention of it. I have always distinguished between fresh water and the salt water of the ocean / sea. But, you make a great point, as no question salt water largely protected from the “open” ocean is much calmer. The Puget Sound and Howe Sound, up in Washington and British Columbia, are where I have the most experience with this calming effect.

Although rarely experienced by me, I do enjoy the mesmerizing sights and sounds of the open ocean. So, I am thankful to have seen some more of that on this trip. And captured some video clips, so I can sit in my “comfy chair” back home and enjoy them again with my beloved lifemate.

”'m looking forward to read about your adventures with your siblings. How long haven't you seen them?

This long-anticipated visit will begin tomorrow, once they have arrived. I am “camped out” just south of where we will be staying. A nice resort called Sunriver. In Oregon. I actually last saw them on my vacation this summer with my wife. This time will be just us siblings. We haven’t spent time alone together, since we said our emotional goodbyes to our family farm in 2015.

Honestly not sure what I will write about, once that visit begins. I will most likely just focus on them in the “real world” and write about it “in here” sometime after … 😉

For me engagement meant something different in the past too so I understand what you mean :)

It's so nice when your loved one knows you better than anyone else and knows exactly what you need and also supports you in getting better and finding your new way of life. This is the true love and I am happy that you found it in your life. I hope that her work will be over soon so that you can head on road together :)

This could be a language thing. In Slovak we clearly distinguish between the sea and the ocean. There are only 4 oceans and the rest are seas. I didn't know that you don't make such a clear distinction in English :)

I am sure you will have amazing time with them. I think that siblings need time alone from time to time. They share a special bond that no one from outside can understand. They have their childhood jokes and memories and it's nice to talk about them and laugh together as well. What happened to your family farm?

In my opinion, the 'real world' is much more important that the online world. Just enjoy your time with them and make new memories. We will still be here once you're ready to write about it :)

Have fun and maybe do something crazy too! ;)

Yes @delishtreats, I count myself blessed to have a faithful and devoted lifemate, with whom to share both the beauty and the challenges of life. Over 40 years and counting, we have “been through the wars” and are still going strong! 😊 ”Till death do us part” are more than words to us.

And yes …

”They share a special bond that no one from outside can understand.”

… no doubt about that. Given the difficulties of our childhood, I count it a miracle we have the close relationship we do. We give our Lord all the credit. Can’t adequately express the anticipation in words, but I really am looking forward to the next two weeks. What I am certain of is the time will be invaluable to me, at this stage of my life. After which, I will be ready to return home.

The marvel of our technological advancements can only take us just so far. Glad to know we share the same perspective about the value of being online vs. real life. Thank you for adding value to this post @delishtreats.

Until we “meet” again, all the best to you!

40 years! Well done you! We are now just over 8 and sometimes it feels like I would really like to break his neck :D But I think it belongs to it.. And I would of course never do it :D

I will not hold you for long as I know that you're enjoying time with your siblings :) I will love to read how it goes but I will wait until you have time to tell me :)

Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55