You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Araya: beach tourism and salt history

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Beautiful travelogue! The inn, the beach, the food, and the history - "one of the most important Salt Lagoons in Latin America and the world called Laguna Madre," and I'd never heard of it until now. We have no salt mines in the Midwest (that I know of) but we used to have the world's largest button factories along the Mississippi, when clam shells were the source of buttons. Plastic changed all that. Thanks for an informative post with awesome photos!

My upvote is worth a whopping one cent right now, so I'll hold off until I power up. (If that will even help.)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kindness and reading. Araya and Laguna de Sal have many stories. It is a very small town but very important because with salt food is preserved without putting in the refrigerator. If we think of 1500, 1600, etc., until the refrigerator was invented then the salt was like gold.

In what I have time I will publish another work on Araya. For now I am writing and researching to do something real but with a romantic touch of fiction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37