You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [PHOTO ESSAY] A road trip to Kootwijkerzand, The Netherlands

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Wow. It's not a feature I'd associate with the Netherlands. I would associate it with here, however. I am less than 40 miles from the 'Imperial Sand Dunes' a huge area of huge dunes. The wind has blown hard the last two days, I could go out today and see the changes... It is where Star Wars sand scenes were filmed.

If you want a place that is completely different but also the same, there is an area of white dunes in Eastern Washington that also harbors some of the oldest known trees on earth. A small population survived the last ice age...

What a cool trip for you to share with us. Thank you.

Sort:  

And what a cool tip you shared with me! I truly believe asking locals for tips is the best and basically only way one should travel. Leave the books at home and just ask people for places to go. So I'm now busy googling your tips and will add them to my list of 'must-see places'. Old trees between white dunes sounds like a dream place to visit.

Thanks for sharing @bigtom13! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16