You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mission San Luis Rey

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Wow! What a cool tour! I've been to a few in California, but have managed all of them in Arizona. Ours tend to be a little older and a little worse for wear. The oldest, dating to the 1620s are ruins.

There is one missing from your list. St. Thomas Indian Mission located at old fort Yuma (actually on the California side of the Colorado) which is still in business. The current mission was a rebuild on the same site in 1923.

If you ever decide you need to visit the 22nd Mission in California you should let me know. I'd be happy to buy you a cup of coffee....

Sort:  

I went to San Xavier del Bac (?) in Arizona. That was a long time ago, but I remember it being beautiful. Also hit up a couple in Texas. I find their architecture very appealing.

My favorite. It is beautiful and claims to have the oldest building in North America on the grounds. Several places dispute that claim :) The architecture is just amazing. And the history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56