You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's travel together #106 - Coloanele de Bazalt (The Basalt Columns)

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Ohhh yes. Those are a beautiful formation. It's so light in color. I grew up in a huge volcanic area (the hot spot that now resides under Yellowstone National Park worked it's way through the Pacific Northwest first.) So I'm no stranger to basalt. But ours is almost universally black.

That would be known as a post pile around here. The most famous being Devil's Post pile in Wyoming, but there are lots of columns. There is an area on the east side of Couer D'alene Lake where you can see the effects of the Ice Sheet from the last ice age as it carved out the lake. And disturbed columns further east up into the Rocky Mountains.

Thanks Gabriela! For the post and the boots :)

Sort:  

Never seen black columns but I can imagine how spectacular they are. I also just googled Devil's Post pile from Wyoming as I've never heard about this place before and it looks amazing. I even saw people climbing the basalt columns which is truly crazy :D

Thanks for stopping by, as always is a pleasure reading your thoughts about my posts :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99