Hiroshima, The City That Strives For Peace

Hey #Steemit! The @backpackingchef here, today I want to tell you about my experience in Hiroshima, Japan.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_142549.jpg
Hiroshima Genbaku Dome

At 8:15am, August 6 1945, the atomic bomb 'Little Boy', was dropped on Hiroshima, the impact of the bomb after the first year, had killed 166,000 people and destroyed 70% of all the buildings in Hiroshima.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_145600.jpg
Lanterns of remembrance

I came to Hiroshima during the 72nd anniversary of the bombing, eager to learn how the people of this beautiful city rebuilt and continued with their lives after such a heartbreaking, devastating event.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_150432.jpg
The last remnant of the bombing

I decided first to see the Memorial Museum, I grew up hearing about World War 2 and the bombing of Japan. Just like stories you're told as a child. But it's difficult to realise the reality of what happened.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_145320.jpg
The Atomic clock

Halfway through the Museum, I found myself unable to continue. Stories of whole schools of children turned to ash, peoples entire family disappearing in an instant, and generations to come affected by the cancers caused from radiation poisoning.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_155735.jpg
Teacher and child statue

I returned the next day to see the rest of the exhibits, and one in particular took my eye. The abolition of nuclear weapons, the people of Japan are striving for peace. For the world to finally realise the universe is so much bigger than our petty squabbles, and that nuclear deterrant is never a viable option.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_162243.jpg
The memorial cenotaph

I started walking through the Memorial Peace Park, and stopped by the Memorial Cenotaph. The Japanese say, it's shape is to represent shelter for the souls of those lost.

At the front of the Cenotaph there is writing saying a prayer for the peaceful repose of the victims and a pledge on behalf of all humanity never to repeat the evil of war. It expresses the spirit of Hiroshima — enduring grief, transcending hatred, pursuing harmony and prosperity for all, and yearning for genuine, lasting world peace.

Looking through the monument, in the distance the Genbaku Dome is visible, a constant reminder of what happend in the past.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_160617.jpg
People placing their laterns in the river

Soon I reached the lake, and the annual ceremony had begun. Many Japanese people were writing names of loved ones lost on lanterns, and their wishes for world peace.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_161042.jpg
Wishing for world peace

As the sun set, and the ceremony came to it's conclusion, I sat there and looked at the faces of the Japanese people attending, all smiling, and enjoying their time with their loved ones.

Even after all they've gone through, all the hatred and death and suffering from the war. All anyone wants now, is to spend time with their families and to love and cherish one another, without threat of such terrible things happening ever again.

LRM_EXPORT_20180530_160824.jpg
The sun setting over memorial park

As I returned to my accomodation, I was left thinking about all I had seen and learned. If only the world was full of more people such as these, there would be no more sadness or hatred. Just compassion and an eagerness to make the world a better place!

FB_IMG_1525534304729.jpg

I'm the @backpackingchef and I hope you enjoyed my story! I look forward to your comments and questions! Let me know if you've visited Hiroshima and been to the Memorial Peace Park.

Next time I'll show you a Hiroshima style Japanese dish, that'll make your mouth water!!

Thanks for all the continued support #Steemit community.

Lots of Love the @backpackingchef.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=backpackingchef
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hiroshima-the-city-that-strives-for-peace


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi backpackingchef,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Being a country bumpkin I am not a lover of cities (I far prefer your last photo ;) However I can appreciate this rather sobering experience! And next time I look forward to that yummy Japanese dish @backpackingchef

Generally I prefer off the beaten track places, instead of cities. But theres been a few cities I can't get enough of.

That last photo was taken around Van lake in Turkey.

Thanks for your comment!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04