Morskie Oko and Czarny Staw pod Rysami in winter!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

I will take you this time to the beautiful winter scenery of Morskie Oko, which is the largest lake in the Tatras. In addition, I will go on Czarny Staw pod Rysami (another Tatra lake) in winter. This is my next one-day trip, this time from February 21, 2015. I invite you to read!


20150221_095825.jpg


I start my journey from the parking at Palenica Białczańska. The first 8 kilometers are an asphalt road leading to the hostel at Morskie Oko. I don't like this asphalt route, but you have to overcome it on foot to focus on the right route from Morskie Oko to Czarny Staw pod Rysami. That day the weather was good. It was a light frost and the sun was shining.

20150221_102457.jpg


After reaching Morskie Oko, the view we get at the entrance there is breathtaking. Everything froze and you can walk safely on the lake. The ice here is about 2 meters thick and lasts all winter, so you can easily enter. Light fear remains because Morskie Oko is a lake 50 meters deep. However, you can see many traces of people who have already walked on this lake. So it's time to try.

20150221_110938.jpg


Ok we go, nothing breaks, so we can shorten the route to Czarny Staw, going straight through Morskie Oko. In the middle of the lake, the wind began to gain strength. I am accelerating to overcome this unpleasant part of the road faster. As you can see, the path is well compacted (ice is additionally covered with a thick layer of snow).

Bez tytułu.jpg


Now some real winter mountaineering begins. In summer this route is very popular. In winter, as you can see, there are not many people here. The snow that day was not compacted. There was a second degree of avalanche danger. However, in my opinion, there was no high risk of avalanche going down. Marching in such snow, it is a tiring road. Even with poles you need a lot of effort. In front of me 200 meters up a fairly steep slope. It is worth getting tired to see it all in advance.

20150221_122009.jpg


Managed to! After about an hour of breaking through the snow at a calm pace we reach the top. Czarny Staw pod Rysami is at an altitude of 1580 m above sea level. The photo shows a few daredevils going further to Rysy (the highest peak in Poland). It's too dangerous for me. I conquered this summit in the summer, but in the winter, reason wins. Maybe it's good. I like risk but without exaggeration.

20150221_122107.jpg


And finally you have the view that everyone has been waiting for: Morskie Oko seen from over Czarny Staw pod Rysami. As it turned out, going up was easier. You can go down badly. Fortunately, I was able to descend safely to the shelter. After such impressions I sat in a shelter and drank hot tea. There are still 8 kilometers of asphalt left. In winter, plan your trips carefully to make it back before sunset. Greetings to all those who love mountains!

Photos used in the article are my private materials.


Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Beautiful place. I love to get back to it now and then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62810.21
ETH 3407.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42