Week 3/52 - 2018 Costumes & Captain

in #travelersnotebook6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit World,

If you've been keeping up with me, here's another catch-up summary post for January!

This is Week 3: Monday 15th to Sunday 21st, January 2018
1.jpg

I had a typical work week this week. However, this week, my Dragon Boat team decided to ramp up the training sessions to 4 times a week, instead of 3. This is in preparation for the upcoming State and National Championships in the following months.

week 3 collage.png
Typical breakfasts of the week, and my view from my car after breaking down on the highway (cries)

On Monday and Tuesday afternoon, I had training. It's been suuuuper tough, but it just goes to show how much progress has been made. My partner and I watched The Shape of Water on Tuesday night, and I loved it. I'm a hopeless romantic and I'm so easy to impress haha.

On Wednesday, as part of my little sister's birthday, I took her to get her lashes done. We had dinner afterwards at Seoul Bistro, a Korean chicken buffet restaurant with a few other members of the fam.

On Thursday, I skipped training to help my little sister with her Birthday preparations, aaaaaand then my car broke down on the highway! Luckily, nothing crazy happened and RACQ pulled through. When I finally got to mum's house, I set up the fairy lights all over the house (with assistance of course), and helped with any last tasks.

Friday had come at last, which meant once the clock hit 4pm, I was out of the office! Tonight was my little sister's 21st birthday party with the following theme, Super Heroes v.s. Super Villains!
Picture1.png
Wonder Woman, Chun Li (me!), and Bat Girl + the bbq

RYXA5222.jpg
The beautiful cake made by the birthday girl herself XD

Come Saturday, being a total slacker, I skipped training to help with the post-party clean up. That night, I had a wonderful hot-pot dinner with my entire family before my partner and I fly off to Japan.

On Sunday, I had a QLD state squad training day which went on for about 6 hours. It was a tough, but extremely rewarding day. My QLD state squad team comprises of premier paddles from many different Dragon Boat clubs. Therefore, our training sessions are important for us to mesh together to race against the other states in Australia.

As it was my little sister's actual birthday that day, I surprised her with birthday cupcakes for the whole team! :)

In the middle of the session, our coach had each member vote for a male and female team mate of their choice to appoint as captain. To my surprise, I was chosen as the female captain! The first feeling I had was panic haha. Then disbelief, awe, some more panic. Then I felt really flattered. Just an entire spectrum of emotions. I was a mess ahah.

I've never seen myself as a captain or a leader. I was always chosen as one of the last people for group work. I've always been awkward, shy and quite. Even in the workplace, I have people asking me, "Why are you so quiet?" I know it shouldn't upset me, but it does. That's why being voted captain is a huge opportunity and humbling experience. It makes me feel appreciated and needed. That I'm not just there. That my efforts are required and do make a difference. Now I'm just rambling, sorry!

That evening after training, my fam had dinner at my big sister's house again. The photo below is my little sister's third birthday ice cream ahah.
SCYW3413.jpg
Little sister, Nova and Big sister

So that was my week 3 of 2018. Hope you enjoyed catching up with me!

Jade

Sort:  

Look at Nova kicking @crystaljl

Big jam packed week

She's like, "give me the ice cream!!!!" hahaha

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99