Snowboarding in La Thuile - Italy

in #traveldigest6 years ago (edited)

Living on a little island in the Mediterranean means that we don't get any snow #sad
Every year we travel to visit a different ski resort. While googling for the best resort, I found out that google maps can show the Ski pists so I could see which was closest and with most pists.
One thing led to another and I found this lovely resort called La Thuile.

Luckily La Thuile was only 50 Euro and 2 hours away from us!
The flight was nice, apart from my disappointment from teasing my gf that I had the window seat, I ended up on the only window seat that DIDN'T have a window :@

feeling the pain of a window seat without a window

La Thuile


We landed in Milan Bergamo airport which is 3 hours driving distance from La Thuile. The drive wasn't particularly easy because the day before the area was hit by a snow storm which dropped a whopping 1.5meters of fresh snow, causing all kinds of road problems.

our rental, love a little panda

We drove very slowly and in the end had to put the snowchains in the middle of the night during a snowfall. Of course, it was my first time to put the damn things on, but somehow or the other I managed and what we planned for a 3 hour drive ended up 5+ hours of cautious driving, arriving at about 00:30 in the morning.

The First Look


I would say the first view in the morning is what you travel for. Opening the window and gazing into the distance while marvelling yourself with nature's beauty. Unfortunately, this time I had a nice snow wall, neck high blocking half of the view, but still was awesome to be there :D

We rushed to rent our snowboards and bought skii passes for the week. It was a bit later that we realized how empty the resort was. We were lucky that the resort was open and had a couple of pists available, and I have to say, the pists were amazing!









Christmas Market


Unfortunately, the village market was not open yet, but we found out that there was one 30 minutes away. Headed there and we manged to buy some presents and goodies.

QC Terme di San Didier


This was a treat. For our 6th Anniversary we decided to treat ourselves at the local natural hot springs. Terme di San Didier have an amazing website to start with, but the images don't lie. What you see is what you get!
I will be making a post for it soon. Keep posted :)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=theislander
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=snowboarding-in-la-thuile-italy


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hi, friend. So beautiful!!! I also visited Terme di San Didier during summer...I think it becomes more beautiful during winter!
Ahaha, I like your video!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95