You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel adventures - Castle Bourscheid in Luxembourg

in #traveldigest6 years ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with such historical heritage like Bourscheid Castle, or looking through the pictures and the structure of it it might be more Fortress with its strong high walls to protect the people behind their walls. It is unfortunate that most of the structures are destroyed, but this is the time, battles and age. I found it was good that the family has given it to state, to entertain such massive historical place just by one own is not possible, much expenses especially if someone would like to keep it in this condition. Weather is also not helpful in that.

It was may be a good luck with the weather because there are not too many tourists, otherwise it is difficult to make a photographs without people, some of them not keen to be in someones picture.

Looking at you wrapped in wind jacket and hair blown by wind, that made me shiver too. But I hope it was worth to visit that beautiful place :)

Sort:  

You are right, it does look like a Fortress and it had a military function but its name says Chateau (castle). I think it's because the aristocracy used to live there as well. This is an interesting point and I will try to search more information about it.

Yes, the state can cover higher expenses and they really do it. There is continuous restoration going on and I can see a big progress since I was there for the last time, a couple of years ago.

Sure, everything has its pros and cons. I prefer when there are no tourists to be honest so from this perspective, the weather was ideal :) But it was really cold. We were not really ready for such weather as the week before was still hot.

Sometimes I have to wait for several minutes for people to go away so that I can take a picture. How much I hate when someone sees that I'm taking pictures and go and stand right in front of me :D

Hahaha, I was lucky to have the jacket with me! But it was absolutely worth it!

Thank you for visiting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43