I've Been Traveling For 11 Straight Months. AMA.

in #traveldigest6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-10-16 at 10.15.25 PM.png

People always ask me, "How can you travel for so long?"

"Why don't you shower more often?"

And about a million other things.

Ok, so maybe nobody asks the shower question.

But maybe you have some of these same questions, too.

So please, ask me anything you want to about travel!!

The catch is this:

I'm going to invite other steemians that have been traveling for at least 5 months (or are planning to) to talk about how they are doing it, also!

I'd love to get more viewpoints than just my own.

Plus, I really want to collaborate with other steemians as well!

So ask your questions!!!

Me and some "to be announced" steemians will answer them in a future post!!

P.S. I'm not posting for #TravelTunesTuesday today...

...but here's an AMAZING song that I heard from @daveonarrival shared in one of his Travel Tunes Tuesday posts.

I love writing to this song.

One of my fave songs lately.

Listen to it while you're asking your questions!

Sort:  

Hi @nomadicsoul! Yesterday it's been 5 months since I'm travelling! Is this a coincidence or a destiny? lol Feel free to use my experience. ;)

YAY it's meant to be!!! This is going to be fun

One of the most common questions people ask the budget obviously. I have some friends who travel the world and take temporary jobs as they go to fund themselves, are you doing the same?

I met a girl who was travelling the world with literally two t-shirts, two shorts and two undies. I have no idea how she manages that, you would have to wash them at every puddle of water you come across lol

Greetings from Cape Town and enjoy your trip :)

Oooh budget is always a good topic. I'll answer your question in the next post! And maybe some other steemians will answer as well :)

how she manages that, you would have to wash them at every puddle of water you come across lol << hahaha that made me lol. thanks for that

If you want we can join this Ama, we are on the road since January this year. We started in Mexico and went to Cuba, Belize, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Panamá, Colombia, Ecuador and Perú. Now we're again in Costa Rica. We are happy to answer any question :)

YES that would be awesome!!!!!

Also you basically went to all of my favorite places in the world this year.

So we can share our experience :)

@route-m-d would you prefer to do a voice thing, or just write down answers to some of the questions?Then I could make a big blog post with answers and tag you in it or something.

I don't know, this is my first attempt at a joint thing. But once I figure it out, I'm going to want to do a lot more

We definitely prefer write down answers. It's easier for us with the equipment we have :) don't worry, there is always first time :)

That's perfect!!! We can do a collaborative post this way. I actually might want to ask you a question or so, too if that's okay.

You can go through the questions on the post and write down the answers to the ones you want.

I'll do a post with answers from you, @see-it-feel-it and me next Friday or Saturday or Sunday at the latest.

So you have time!

So excited to do a collab post!

I think we need to add some crazy questions! What do you think guys?

yep! haha looks like you and I are adding our own crazy questions!

Budget is obviously number one. I've not met many people who are able to earn an income while travelling. The formula that I most often see is a combination of (1) The most common - Working your butt off at home until you can bankroll it. (2) Shoestring what you have to make your trip go further (hostels, couchsurfing, eat smart, travel inexpensive countries, do volunteer work for accom/food) (3) Working holiday visa, quite a few people; for example travel South East Asia and then recharge their bank accounts in Australia and New Zealand, you need a visa for this however.

I've managed to earn an income on the road for the first time ever through Crypto Trading. I've been away since July now. The bear market doesn't help, but it's certainly possible. The blockchain has opened a lot of opportunities.

ooo that's so interesting, would you wanna join the AMA?

Not exactly sure what that involves, but I am always keen to share some knowledge. Have been travelling on-off for 7 years know. Fairly new to steem, just becoming more active.

How come you shower so often?

What's your next band name?

“Band Name”

I am doing my best to combine languages,translations from English into my native language online, cryptos, hopefully relocate one year through Canada International experience work permit and obviously keep travelling.

oh that's all super cool! Why Canada?

Actually I have never been yet to North America. About Canada it is easier to obtain a one year work permit visa than Usa. I ve never seen a northern light and of course it would be another chance to improve the language. You know English is not my native language.

oh that makes sense. You speak English perfectly @philfreetotravel!

I appreciate your compliment Thank you!! However I am curious how local people speaks English in North America :) American movies I think they are not enough :) enjoy any of your travels!!

I wish I could travel around a while... first to afford it, and hopefully with my partner, just rent a camper and seek the Northern Lights... I do not drive myself but he does... just doing landscape photography and getting inspired, sigh... one day

You can do it!! Man my aunt just got a camper and is going to do something similar. Your Northern Lights plan sounds like the perfect plan!

Will all of your instruments fit in a camper, though? That's the real question!

I even paint and dream about Northern Lights, this is an old post but I think you would like the song and explains my long time dream

One day

https://steemit.com/music/@yidneth/original-song-and-illustration-i-dream-of-auroras-northern-lights

I especially love the instrumental at the beginning. Did you make an actual book, too? And you paint! Omg I want to go hole up somewhere for a year and just go develop skills now lol so amazinggg

Yes, I am a fantasy illustrator, well half musician half illustrator so the released albums are illustrated "Music books" that one in particular is The Underliving http://theunderliving.com you can listen from spotify or wherever but I always recommend people the book cos it's meant to be a a read along

Hmm nop, not all of them :) but I can spend half a year with a smaller keyboard and without the hammered dulcimer, harp and flutes and such come wherever I go

How many sources of income do you have while traveling and what is your main one?

hey hey now, you may also be answering these questions! lol

Do you fund all your travel expenses from steemit?

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74