Daintree Rainforest | Cairns | Mountain Bike "Bump Track"

in #travelblog6 years ago


My wife and I thought we might tackle the "Bump Track" on our 10 Year Anniversary. Maybe not the easiest day ever but it will be a memorable one! This 6km track was originally an Aboriginal trail between the coastal and mountain regions, and in the early days of settlement was a crucial link between Port Douglas and the hinterland for settlers and miners.

The ascent for the Bump Track starts with a 2km challenging incline, including one nasty steep climb called Slatey Pinch at the halfway point. After this, it is 4km of rolling hilly bumps, including a steep drop into a mountain stream approximately 2km from the top of the track. The descent from The Bump is graded so is in relatively good condition.

There are very few technical obstacles. The drop into the mountain stream is very slippery and steep to exit and requires all riders to walk their bike out. The Bump Track ends at Mowbray Valley. From Mowbray River Road there is a bitumen road and cane field headlands to Port Douglas, with a beach ride along the iconic Four Mile Beach to finish!

If you've ever up near Cairns and feel like some exercise it's a great hike but I'd probably recommend starting at the top and riding down if you have bikes (we found this out afterward lol).


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Beautiful post thanks for sharing..I will done upvote .....

You got a 7.08% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @spaceginger!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Man those amazing sounds of the bugs in the background makes me long for summertime here in the US! I can't wait!

Oh man nature is full of beautiful sounds hey @captainbob. I could sit in the rainforest all day and just enjoy the sounds of our Earth's inhabitants.

@spaceginger Looks like you both had a great time!! I did laugh when you said that you could've been dropped at the top to make your way down :) Did you see any cassowary on the decent?

Thanks @redwellies, I appreciate your comment. It was really fun and definitely keen to do more tracks around Australia and maybe even the world. It would've been much more fun to just ride down! lol

We didn't see any Cassowaries here but did film a Daddy walking down the street with his chicks. I made a short video of it the other day in my blog :)

@spaceginger OMG Love those babies :). Glad to see you kept your distance!

Cairns! Do you ever run into Sarah?

Nah bro @kevinli I actually live in Townsville, just south of Cairns. I believe just after our trip to the Daintree @neeqi was there cos she also posted a blog about it (which inspired me to try and learn to do so much more with my videos!) Would be cool to catch up with her someday though and learn more about vlogging and life in general.

We should all catch up!

Hell yeah @kevinli that would be pretty sweet! Funny my wife is in Melbourne right now... wish it was me! Seriously, if you're ever up this end of Australia hit me up man.

Gotta love Cairns! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29