Travelling to the hidden gems of Europe

in #travel7 years ago

Personally I love traveling but when I get the idea that I see more tourists then locals it kinda bumps me out.

Don't get me wrong I am a tourist myself when I go to another country but I like to meet local people and experience their culture while most tourists bring their own culture with them.

Personally that is not really the travel experience I want. So I tried to find some places "hidden gems" within Europe that apparantly aren't that crowded with tourists.Personally I love cities with a large history and culture so if that is not really your cup of tea this post might not be for you.

Greece - Samos Kokkari

This is much less known island with beautiful vegetation, a lot of nature and also mountains like Mt. Kerkis and Mt. Ambelos.  This island is also the home of a number of well known mathematicians like Pythagros.


Italy - Civita di Bagnoregio

Italy is beautiful country with structures of the roman empire still visible it's one of my favourite countries. CIvita is a little town on a hill and the only way you can go up there is by walking a long stone walkway and at the start the second village Bagnoregio. Civita dates back to the medieval time so there is a lot of history to be found.


France- Rocamadour

Rocamadour is a holy city which also dates back to the medieval times, if you are not religious or you dont enjoy the beauty of the religious structures. This city is not for you there are a number of religious structures at the city like chapels and the black madonna, all the chapels are build within or against the huge rock  at the center of the city which makes it all the more great.


Portugal - Combra

Combra is a city which dates back as early as the roman empire so the city has a lot of history. Funny thing is this city was actually Portugals first capitcal for about 200 years. It is also a known place for students there are numerous universities and colleges in the city next to the royal palace.


Community of Steemit what other places can you reccommend? 

Sort:  

Love those pics. You really have an eye for capturing pretty towns!

Very nice. Upped and following! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46