Travel ancient Egypt (To do on the bucket list)

in #travel7 years ago

I always had the urge to explore and see things of this world. When I watched the movie the bucket list, I came up with a list of places and spots I really wanna see before I kick the bucket so to speak. Now I can't possible write and article about the entire list with locations but I can make start. Almost at the top, the structures of Egypt.

Since the movie the mummy came out I decided then and there to go and see the temples and explore ancient egypt myself. Down below is a list of structures I desperatly wanna explore.

Karnak

Although badly ruined, few attractions of an Egypt tour are more impressive than Karnak. It is the largest ancient religious site in the world, and represents the combined achievement of many generations of Egyptian builders.

Abu Simbel

The twin temples of Abu Simbel were carved out of the mountainside during the reign of Pharaoh Ramesses The Great in the 13th century BC, as a lasting monument to himself and his queen Nefertari.

Luxor Temple

The Luxor Temple is located on the east bank of the River Nile in the ancient city of Thebes and was founded in 1400 BC during the New Kingdom.

Temple of Hatshepsut

The Mortuary temple of Hatshepsut, who ruled Egypt from around 1479 BC until her death in 1458 BC, is situated on the west bank of the Nile.

Temple of Seti I

The Temple of Seti I is the mortuary temple of Pharaoh Seti I on the west bank of the Nile in Abydos. The ancient temple was constructed towards the end of the reign of Seti, and may have been completed by his son Ramesses the Great after his death in 1279 BC.

Temple of Edfu

The Temple of Edfu, dedicated to the falcon god Horus, is the second largest Egyptian temple after Karnak and one of the best preserved.

Philae Temples

The island of Philae was the center of the cult of the goddess Isis. The first temple on the island was built by native pharaohs of the 30th dynasty.

Colosso of Memnon

Built around 1350 BC, The Colossi of Memnon are two massive stone statues depicting Pharaoh Amenhotep III in a seated position.

Temple of Kom Ombo

Situated on a high dune overlooking the Nile, The Temple of Kom Ombo is an unusual double temple built during the Ptolemaic dynasty.

Medinet Habu

Located on the West Bank of Luxor, Medinet Habu is the Arabic name for a huge temple complex second only to Karnak in size and better preserved.

Sort:  

What, no Sphinx of Giza?

normally yes, but personally I had already seen it from my first trip, although I was very young at the time.

Awesome sites!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64