New York (my honeymoon, part 1!) - Travel Blog - First Post!

in #travel7 years ago

Hello all, I'm new to this so bear with me.

Whilst my account had been pending I'd been wondering what I could share for my first post on Steemit. I admit I'm still getting a good understanding of what people want to read and discuss on this unique social network, so apologies if this isn't of interest. Please do comment below on how you think I've done!

So in October last year, I got married. We've been together for a decade but only engaged for two years. It was an amazing, small wedding, with the ceremony in our town hall, the meal in a fantastic local burger bar and the party in a pub. Friends, beer and burgers - just what we wanted.

We're based in the UK and I'd never previously been outside of Europe, so when it came to our honeymoon I was adamant I wanted to get out of my comfort zone. My (now) wife has been to the states a couple of times before, having family over there, but had never been to New York - so the Big Apple seemed the perfect location for our getaway.

I don't really have much to say about New York other than that it is now quite possibly my favourite place in the world. I loved it so much, as did wife Jen.

We stayed in super-trendy Williamsburg in Brooklyn and felt at home almost immediately. On our first afternoon in the City, we walked straight towards the waterfront to get our first proper glimpse of Manhattan and it didn't disappoint.

honeymoon-4-2.jpg

When in a new place we always try to walk everywhere. You get such a better understanding of a city when you walk through it rather than racing through in a taxi or on a train.

On our second day in New York we walked across the Williamsburg bridge into Manhattan and discovered Chinatown and Little Italy. Both were charming.

honeymoon-1-2.jpg

Other than walking, our favourite mode of transport were the speedy little water taxis that nip up and down the river. For about $2 you can get a one-way ticket and it is an amazing way to see the city and get to places quickly. They are also just very fun.

honeymoon-3-2.jpg

We spent most of our evenings in Williamsburg, but one night we got dressed up and went for a lovely meal at Craft. It was expensive but the food was incredible and the staff were so good they mad us feel welcome and cared for.

Before our dinner we took in the staggering sites from the Top of the Rock, which our friend Heather bought us tickets to as a wedding present. I was dissapointed by all of the sheets of glass on the first level, it blocked the wind and the cold, which is the sort of thing that I think helps you feel like you're high up (places like the eiffel tower have netting instead of glass, which I think is better). Thankfully the higher level has no barriers so you get a real sense of being on top of the world.

honeymoon-8.jpg

honeymoon-7.jpg

Times Square wasn't on our 'must-visit' list, but we did go along and had some lovely (and huge) cheesecake. It was an experience, but not one I would rush back to experience again.

honeymoon-3.jpg

The Chrysler, on the other hand, was a definite 'must-visit' and despite only being able to go in the lobby (there isn't a viewing platform, sadly) it was incredible. The art-deco style is iconic inside and out. (By the way, if you are interested in the history of the Chrysler, I really recommend this 99% Invisible episode - https://99percentinvisible.org/episode/higher-and-higher/ )

honeymoon-5.jpg

honeymoon-4.jpg

After all the hustle and bustle of Manhatten it was always nice to head back to Williamsburg, a part of the city that just felt like home to us. It was a little grubby, a little scruffy, but it was a great place to spend time.

honeymoon-5-2.jpg

Finally, I'll leave you with a pic of my lovely new wife, enjoying some hand-made ice cream whilst waiting for a water taxi.

honeymoon-6-2.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed this little travel blog. I'll be back soon with part two of our honeymoon trip - Boston!

Thanks,

Josh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43