WHY YOU SHOULD START PLANNING YOUR TRIP TO GERMANY NOW

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

German Summer = Bierfest season

From April to September 2014, I lived in a Bavarian village, Kirchdorf Am Inn. This is one of many villages spread throughout Germany, with some of the nicest people I'd ever met.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kirchdorf_am_Inn

I had an amazing time and that town will forever hold a special place in my heart. I even decided to buy myself an authentic Lederhosen to bring home as the ultimate souvenir. I also learned a few interesting things about German culture.

Deutschland = Germany

  1. Eins
  • I learned quickly that not showing up five minutes early everywhere equated to being late.

Zwei

  • Practicing these habits makes Germans extremely punctual and the ones that are always prepared. They have usually thought through plan B and maybe C while you were coming up with plan A.

Drei
-They make the greatest bier in all the world.

Summer time in Germany is filled with bier festivals almost every weekend. I was unaware of this, and had only heard about Octoberfest.

Bierfest #1 Simbach
This was the first one we experienced, and wow did we drink in the experience... haha

These tents are **HUGE** It was in a close neighbor village, the masses were the cheapest, and all of the locals that we knew were there. It felt like a small party... with everyone from the two cities present (combined population of 15000). This was maybe the most fun bierfest I went to.

Bierfest #2 location=???
The next one was 45 minutes away by bus. and five times bigger than the one in Simbach.

enter image description here

My buddy Hautzi took me along to show me the ropes. He is a legendary Bavarian who turns into his alter-ego during Bierfests, "Freddy. "
enter image description here
It was so big compared to Simbach that it left me a little intimidated about the next one I wanted to go to. Before I came home, I had one more on the list, the reason most people stop by Germany in late September.

Oktoberfest

Adult Disneyland

Munich
It turns out, the German discipline "conveniently" carried right over into executing the perfect day at Oktoberfest.The German preparation, attention to detail, and punctuality dominates the mere tourists.
They had us up at 9 am and walking out their Munich front door by 9:30. Then finally, I had the epiphany, I now understood the reason for all of the festivals throughout summer. In true German fashion, they're all just practice rehearsals for the The Grand Daddy of them all. Kurt and I

enter image description here
Entering the gates about 9:45, you can feel the calm before the storm. Oktoberfest is something that you can't fully understand until you're there. It's like some wonderland with amazing bier, fried food and desserts on every corner... and I'm not talking Miller lite.
enter image description here

Coincidentally, the band playing in the tent we were at shared the name of our village. It was a sign of a great day to come.
enter image description here

These are strongest women I've ever seen, they carry all the bier to the table at once!

enter image description here

I quickly realized the festivals prior to this were the kiddy pool and I was now at the high dive.

 11:00 am
Don't get lost

I even met a couple that lived only 15 minutes from me in Arizona.
enter image description here

Between the 10 euro masses, the smell of fresh pretzels and schnitzel in the air, it is the happiest place on earth for adults. There are so many people from around the world that are ecstatic to partake in the German celebration that the result is, the perfect environment to make an unforgettable memory. I strongly recommend you cross it off the bucket list and start planning your trip to Oktoberfest today!

Prost!

P.S.
Our buddies warned us...DO NOT try to steal a Mug.

Oktoberfest FAQ
http://www.oktoberfest-insider.com/oktoberfest-faq.htm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75