Happy New YearsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

3A5BE265-3117-4806-B7F8-154A41A9F3B5.jpeg

In the first hour of the New year my parked car was totaled by a drunk driver. Thank goodness no one was in my car but there were five passengers in the other. Some of which had flown out of the vehicle.

I had also planned on leaving after spending time with my family, to go to a nearby club but had decided to stay in. For all we know, if my car hadn’t been there, theirs would have slammed into a tree or into a brick wall which could have easily been fatal to some.

This is the story:
I had just gone to bed when a loud whoosh had sped past my window. My street is very narrow and it makes a sharp turn, assuming the car was going about 60 or 70 mph, I already knew something bad was gonna happen. As soon as I had that thought, I heard loud crashes. I remember waking my grandmother up, stating that both of our cars were on that street!
I grabbed my robe, but forgot my glasses, and went down to see if everyone was alright.

My car was destroyed.

My heart felt to the pit of my stomach but with a slap of reality, I noticed that there were screams of pain and agony. I looked around and many of the passengers were stumbling with only minor scrapes.

The driver had walked over to me as she saw tears rolling down my face, slurring, that everyone is okay and that everything will be fine.
I called my dad to come down to see and as soon as I did, a fight broke out. A man was punching a woman directly to the face. His reason ? He was just drunk.

She had explained to the authorities that the reason she had crashed was because the drunk man who had hit her earlier, was hitting her in the back of the head.

I’m grateful that no one was seriously injured but PLEASE DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE!!!!
I still do not have a car but am very hopeful that their insurance will help.

Sort:  

It’s only metal, glad everyone was ok.

Congratulations @yvettecorvett! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yvettecorvett! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42