Too cheap holidays. India, Goa - 2.

in #travel6 years ago

In the continuation of the story of my trip to the Indian state of Goa, I would like to tell about such a living sights - about the Bab (accent on the second syllable). Well, before I start, I'll show you a wonderful sunset:

In Hinduism, Baba is a respected person, usually an elderly person, who has gained wisdom in life. According to legend, this Baba came in the 60s and since then constantly sits under a banyan in the depths of the jungle. It is also rumored that the Beatles themselves came to see him!

I do not have my photos of this place, so I'll take other photos:

It is accepted to bring something for Baba when you go there. As a rule, fruits are brought there. Less often - tea, rum and marijuana. When you approach the banyan, you are immediately offered to sit down and taste the treats. A tube, filled with marijuana, is continuously transmitted around the circle. The people are mostly silent and only occasionally whisper. I was very uncomfortable there, and I quickly fell from there. As for me, it's a drug dump ...

Is it worth to go there at all? Definitely yes! Firstly, on the way there you will visit the wonderful Kalach beach (Note: Sunbeds are paid! Even if the local people say that they are free, after a while it will require money!). This beach is surrounded by jungles and two rocks, so you can not get there. On the way to the beach, the path rests on huge boulders, on which it is necessary to climb, or, at least, to bypass them on the sea. Depending on the tide, this may be a problem. Secondly, to see this Baba with his own eyes, too, does not hurt, the character is very colorful and quite interesting.

By the way, when I went up to him through the jungle, I first came across another meadow, where the old man also sat and a small group of hippies and drank tea. It turned out that this is the second, "lower" Baba. So, with the growing popularity of this place, the number of wise men grows =)

Something I thought was going to fit the story about Goa into two posts, but, apparently, the third post to be. To be continued!

Sort:  

enjoyed reading both parts. are you still travelling in Goa?

No, it was 1 year ago. But I want to go there again in 2 months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88