Travel series: When in Rome..

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

They say, you should do as the Romans.
Well, let me tell you that you can do that and just about anything else in this amazing city.

Rome left me a very lasting and positive impression. Looking back at my visit just makes me want to pack my bags and hit a new destination as soon as possible.

I'm big on visiting places with history, big cities, art, architecture, this leads to my addiction for that rush of curiosity that just pushes you to seeing more and as much of the place as possible. Rome definitely provided in all those aspects.

Culturally speaking I didn't feel much different than being at home. In Argentina the majority have an Italian background and the impact of Italian immigration in the 19th century impacted our culture immensely to this day and considering I speak Italian getting around was not a problem at all, I realized I've been doing as the Romans for a really long time. I needed to explore though, my curious urge got the best of me. So the journey began!

Every location I visited by foot. I do regret this decision but I was on a strict budget and honestly didn't even plan on being in the city for long. My initial plan was to go to do an errand to change my flight date and I ended up doing an entire tour of the city on my own.
I started by going to a hostel to see if they had any vacancies to stay a night or two that way I could get the full grasp of the city. Being rejected on spot they gave me a map to visit other hostels in the area to try my luck. They were pretty distant from each other and I didn't want to spend more time just being rejected from every hostel in the city so I went on to staying the day with my backpack and just try and make the best of it.
One lesson learned looking back is that you definitely cannot do Rome in a day. It wasn't built in a day, so on that note plan your stay at a minimum of 5 to fully experience this city!

Colosseum and sorroundings

The colosseum is huge and inside the halls I couldn't help but remember scenes from The Gladiator. The phrase "Are you not entertained?!" just echoed in every corner of this city

Inside the colossuem you have the arena. Amazing infrastructure and even more impressive is how well it has been maintained.

Roman forum

I spent a little over 3 hours in this place, it really is an interesting experience. Do request a map, the place is huge and full of easter eggs with hidden musuems and such

Fontana di Trevi

I stumbled into these statues in a very random warehouse. The door being open was a clear invite so I just walked right in. These statues really caught my eye. If anyone has any info on them I would be glad to hear about it.

Not entirely satisfied with my 1st visit, a 2nd one is in my future plans to include The vatican city ( I was denied entrance due to having shorts on. It was a very hot day) and other locations I'm sure I didn't even consider seeing this trip was entirely spontaneous and was very limited due to resources.


Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed the post, hit follow for more of my travel series.
Upvoting and resteeming is motivating & appreciative, hope I've earned yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40