Journey to Isla de Fuego

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

2018-03-29 11.21.56 1.jpg
At Dumaguete Port. Taken while on board on a fastcraft going to Siquijor Island.

Hello there Steemians!

I hope someone's listening. I hope someone's caring to read.

Here I am, embarking on a journey to hopefully recover some lost passion. Passion to explore the world, one place at a time.

It's been a long time since I posted something that's related to travel. I know. Maybe because everything has become a transition in my life. Don't get me started on these transitions. Besides, I have been very busy with Steem Summit preparations. I guess have to prioritize things and make some adjustments. Together with these adjustments are some necessary sacrifices.

Here I am, writing while on transit to the mystical island of Siquijor. An island province located at the south of Cebu. An island that was dubbed as Isla de Fuego or Island of Fire. According to legends, it was called so because of the fireflies that enveloped the island when the night falls. That would be a majestic sight to behold. It might be true in the past, but I'm not sure if it still holds true today. I hope I can witness something of the same magnificence when I get there.

Back to that lost passion, I'm not sure if it's really a passion that was lost. Maybe I'm just preoccupied with a lot on my plate that I forgot to consider that I have drifted away. Literally, I'm drifting right now. Drifting somewhere on the middle of the sea.

I'm excited to tell stories. I'm excited to blurt out tales of this adventure. I hope I won't disappoint and I won't be disappointed.

The choice to go somewhere this Holy Week was decided a long time ago. I just don't know where exactly. I even filed a 3-day leave to maximize my vacation and well-needed rest. I got tired of everything. I suddenly felt uninspired, so I have to find a way to be alive again. But the planned trip was almost scrapped that I even cancelled my leave. It was a last minute decision to just go with the original plan, without any expectations. So here I am, both apprehensive and excited of what's going to unfold.

The Night Before and the Morning Earlier


We decided to meet at 9 PM because I still had to prepare everything after work. I arrived at Cebu South Bus Terminal with the expectation that a long line and a night is waiting for me. True enough, I was not mistaken. Holy Week is not really the best time to travel if you're allergic to the crowd.

2018-03-29 11.26.10 1.jpg
The long line to be endured seems like a pilgrimage for me. A test of one's patience and resolve.

The bus departed at the terminal at around 1:30 AM and arrived at Liloan Port at around 5:00 AM. We arrived in Dumaguete at around 5:30. Walking at the boulevard that early was another experience. It's refreshing and exhausting at the same time.

2018-03-29 11.38.57 1.jpg
With @queenmother and @legendarryll. Strolling in the City of Gentle People, going to another port and another long line to endure.

Along the way, I didn't miss a moment to snap a photo. Hoping that I could find something that would spark an interest.

IMG_20180329_234659.jpg
Acacia trees at Rizal Boulevard, Dumaguete City.

2018-03-29 11.58.29 1.jpg
Just passing by at the iconic Silliman University in Dumaguete City.

A few minutes later, we arrived at Dumaguete Port where we have to continue with the long lines at the ticketing booth. We might have got a ticket earlier than expected, but our schedule is at 11:00 AM bound to Siquijor.

2018-03-29 11.26.10 2.jpg
Queuing Theory in real life. Falling in line became a norm for us.

We are to wait another 3 hours at the departure area. We tried to have some sleep.

2018-03-29 11.26.09 1.jpg
Another waiting time. What a good avenue to observe different types of people from different walks of life.

What Now?


The moment that we all waited has finally come.

2018-03-29 11.21.57 1.jpg
A perfect summer weather for travel.

Here I am, writing something while on board and intermittently snapping some photos when I find something interesting.

2018-03-29 11.21.55 1.jpg
Dumaguete shoreline, one summer day.

A few moments later, I drifted. Drifted to sleep as I was lulled by the motion of the boat...

Oh! We are now in the island. After 15 hours of falling in line and travel, we have now set foot on this island where its reputation is preceding itself. I hope I can find what was lost in me. That's if I really lost something in the first place. Anyway, I'll be updating; even if I was not entitled to do so.

2018-03-30 12.31.30 1.jpg
Taking a photo of the boat while setting my feet in the island for the first time.

Ciao!
Kim, @ybanezkim26


Edit: This should have been uploaded yesterday afternoon, but there are some concerns with my internet connection.

Sometimes it's the journey that teaches you a lot about your destination. - Drake

Sort:  

Wow the photos look amazing!

The power of VSCO. Haha

Enjoy your vacation!looking forward for the isla happenings and adventures💥💥💥

Yay! It's already happening. I'm impressed. I will definitely share everything.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by ybanezkim26 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ybanezkim26 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

woww:) amazing

G'day @ybanezkim26! Simply great - found this really valuable. I hope my 100+ followers will resteem that too. Thank you for contributing to steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51