My Favorite Place in Thailand

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I spent 5 months in 2015 living in Bangkok and traveling all around Thailand. While it seems the past few years has shown a dramatic increase in tourism all over the country, I believe that one area will stay often the beaten path. My favorite place I visited in Thailand is called Ton Sai Bay and is part of the Railay Peninsula. Railay is home to a sort of hippy backpacker community and can only be accessed by boat. The area is quite small and the streets remain unpaved.

IMG_7558.jpg

tonsaidaypan.jpg

Railay is home to some of the best rock climbing in the world and you can hiring a guide and equipment for around $25 for a half day. One of the unique and awesome rock climbing options in Raily is to Deep Water Solo. This means rock climbing up the face of sheer limestone cliffs with no ropes and then jumping out into the water below at around 50 ft in the air.

G0221500 copy.jpg

I view my three days spent in Railay as one of the most memorable and fun trips of my life. I made a short youtube video highlighting the trip below. If anyone else has been or wants to go let me know!

Sort:  

bangkok is the great place for travel i think

Thailand is so amazing, I hope to explore more in the future.

Must be a wonderful country over there! My friend travels to Thailand with his family this summer, seeing your pics, I really envy him!
Enjoy and have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39