A Garden in my Backpack :)

in #travel6 years ago

Backpack of flowers.jpg

elegance.png

Continuing my theme, lately, of promoting the vibrant and varied, natural beauty of Colombia, here's a picture from a farm where we visited to learn how they prepare for their famous Flower Festival.

The pride and joy of Medellín, Colombia is their Feria de las Flores, an annual flower festival that first took place on May 1, 1957.

The sumptuous parade, which features Colombians carrying on their backs elaborate (and, oftentimes, very heavy) flower arrangements represents the end of slavery, when slaves carried men and women on their backs up steep hills.

Feast your eyes on some of these portable gardens!




thick line.png

Once again, I owe the introduction to this and all things Colombian to my dear wife, Diana Restrepo @dianarpo

Sort:  

That would be a festival I'd like to see. I saw the Feria de las Flores y del Cafe in Boquete, Panama a few times, but it's nothing compared to the one in Medellin.

Ah, I wasn’t aware there was one in Panama. Been doing something of a S. America tour, lately; so far, flowers in Colombia beyond compare.

Hi. Would it be possible to take this one step further and grow flowers on the hat too?

Haha... very funny :) Thanks, for that visual!

Hello yahialababidi
You are welcomed by the service of FreeResteem.
We want to bring more people to your post.
If you like our service then put a upvote under this comment.
Thank you for remain with Steemit.

The place where you are at looks so amazing...
You must be having a great time :)

Such a joyous and colorful celebration of the end of slavery! Thanks for sharing these pics. :)

Hi. Beautiful photographs, Colombian tradition ... I love your backpack ... beautiful flowers! I vote for you I humbly invite you to visit my profile and support me ... Thank you.

Wow! Wow! Wow! So cool, my friend. Its fun to enjoy! ☺

QmaygkbFmMaJz9iMtWKdsEi4UST3pzCjstPVGKgu9JEyNd.jpeg

lovely photography
have a nice day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50