Adventure is waiting for us - Take a Step with me into "The Badlands'

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians! 

Did you know there's a rare place near Ontario, Canada that is called The Badlands?  

My friend told me about this place and how neat it is so I had to see it for myself. What is this Badlands? Will I see Daniel Wu? (You know him from the Netflix show called "Into the Badlands") <3 :P 

I decided to go visit this place since it was a nice day. So while driving there, I was passing through the country side. I love the country side. It's so peaceful and quiet.  

When I got there, the place was colored RED! Not literally red but reddish. Am I in Mars? It looks so surreal. I was surprised how beautiful this place is. The view is so scenic and refreshing.  

A Brief History Of The Badlands

 The Badlands was formed in the 1930's from poor farming practices, which caused the soil to erode. The reddish color of the clay was produced from iron oxide deposits. At one time there was a river flowing through this area. Can you imagine a river running through this area? What happened to this river? Many many years ago, the river dried out. :( 

Can you spot the sleeping lady shape that the hills formed in the background? 

The ripple effects on the hill add dimension to the landscape.  

Pretty flowers :) 

Definitely worth the visit!  

Thanks for joining me on my short journey into The Badlands.  I hope you enjoy this post. 

Please Upvote, Resteem and Follow me @xredsoulless !!!!  

Sort:  

The first I heard Badland is from a game in the computer, I never thought that there is such a place called this name. The beauty of the place is a total opposite of the Badlands in the game :) Nice place you got there

Thanks! I never knew this place existed either until I went there :)

Awesome photos. I'm not far from Ontario, perhaps I should someday check this out. Followed you :D

Thank you telekrex! Yes, you should visit when you have the chance. Very unique place. Happy Steeming ^_^

It might be worth mentioning that these are the Cheltenham badlands in Ontario and not the Alberta badlands which imho are more popular.

Thanks @jake-the-snake
In Ontario people just refer it to The Badlands and I didn't know there was one in Alberta. I definitely want to come visit the one in Alberta! Happy Steeming :)

Beautiful shots! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much olga. Have a wonderful day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50