Love thy own. It is indeed more fun in the Philippines.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”

-Mark Twain, The Innocents Abroad/Roughing It

I’ve always wanted to travel the world. I’ve got my top 5 countries to visit and In my enthusiasm, to see these foreign cities, immerse in their culture I have forgotten to look at my own home, at my own country , the Philippines. I have forgotten how wonderful and amazing our own country is! What a shame!

Just last week, I have had the opportunity to be reminded how beautiful our country is. My brother invited me to join him, his girlfriend and their friends to one of their escapades. To an island in Camarines Norte that boasts of clear blue sea, hues of greens and a colorful sunset. The journey is absolutely worth it. 8 grueling hours by land and 2 serene hours by boat to reach the island of Calaguas.

I was awed by the sheer raw beauty of the island. On how clear and blue the sea is. How green the foliage surrounding the island is. People are milling around all their cameras out. All clearly admiring and trying to capture even a small part of the whole island. It is so serene, no mobile signal. You all you can do is swin to your heart’s content, do a little trekking. See the whole island up the peak of the hill.

DC4DBA79-6787-456F-9395-ABCD51958820.jpegtouchdown! View from our cottage.

2B28916D-E27E-4E17-B607-95F4ABBA9F2E.jpegclose to sunset :)

FDE5DFD8-EB8D-40B8-93CA-0BAD95CFA035.jpegA panoramic view from the top. (Excuse my obviously crappy photography skills)

58C3C830-BB65-4B4B-9CE6-7BDDF2B9C596.jpegGoing home but definitely coming back.

There’s a fire in me that is ignited by these picturesque views. A fire that propulsioned me to go on my first hike. I’ll let you know what happens on my next post. ☺️

“Now more than ever do I realize that I will never be content with a sedentary life, that I will always be haunted by thoughts of a sun-drenched elsewhere.”

-Isabelle Eberhardt, The Nomad: The Diaries of Isabelle Eberhardt

Steem on!
Please UPVOTE | RESTEEM | FOLLOW, I appreaciate good critisms on my works :)

Sort:  

i definitely has one word to say : AWESOME!!!!!!

Thanks ☺️

Philippines never fails to amaze me, and so are you babe.

I don’t regret the loooong hours to get there. Definitely worth it.

Philippines is blessed with such beautiful beaches. It’s something that we Filipinos be very proud of. 😊

Congratulations @xiiixivi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh such a beautiful place most especially for beach lovers like me.

Wow this is cool, nice place😊

It really is. ☺️

nice place to go for this summer

Yes and it’s not so crowded unlike the other known beaches

kumusta xiixivi! :) yes, much more fun in PH! yay!

im following u and upvoted now.

Hi:) thank you! I’ll follow you back :)

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 04 May 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51