You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hit the road Jack, or how Im hitchhiking between Tunka valley & Ulan-Ude. (Lots of photos!)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Btw, name Murray Rothbard sounded familiar. Is it the same guy that Robert Anton Wilson polemizes with in "Natual Law, or Don't put a rubber on your willy"? It would be interesting reading him, since I've recently read most of Natural Law. Perhaps I should finish it first though.

Sort:  

Heh, I love Robert Anton Wilson. I spent a lot of years reading books by him, the whole New Falcon stable, Aleister Crowley, and others, AOS, I even read stuff by the Order of Nine Angles, a particularly rabid individualist branch of Satanism. Everything I think has been shaped by especially these writers, and their love for Individualism and philosophy and logic.

My inquiries into communism are actually a consequence of question everything thing. Oh and probably hippies. :-> While I am ambivalent about them (I am more or less ambivalent about everything) in small communities their model looks good. I plan to start or join a cyber hippy commune. Or something.

I think that Steem is precisely the cyber-anarcho-capitalist citadel I have been looking for in a very long time. A true meritocracy. In a physical commune or village situation, it is a matter of luck. This system has the engineering to make it precisely this, down to the last cent. I say 'citadel' because I think that it also has built into it the defences that a free zone requires in order to prosper. This is why normally, autonomous zones are either small or temporary.

I am also a fan of Peter Lamborn Wilson, aka Hakim Bey, who was a significant figure in the anarcho-side of the early stages of the cyber revolution that sprung up as the internet came online. At the time I discovered him, I was also reading Situationist and related Individualist Anarchist texts. I was in fact, living in a room behind an Anarchist bookshop, and while today I am more fervently capitalist, than I was then (because I had not learned about economics), but I have never been any kind of collectivist anarchist. I read almost completely one red anarchist text, at the time, and I had the opportunity to read anything I wanted, and I gravitated towards the individualist. There was no anarcho-capitalist texts in this bookshop.

To me, Individualism comes first, but Capitalism provides a mechanism and a theory to enable the individual to prevail against the depredations of collectivism, which in fact is the core belief of statists and those who support government. So as an individual, I choose capitalism as my Theory, because it works, and the modern world more than adequately refutes any argument to the contrary. The scumbag elites used it to achieve their modern collossal power. But when you put that power in the hands of individuals, well... look. here you are. this is why you are here. this is why everyone who is here not just to 'win votes' is here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67